Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“I just had to write and tell you how this trip has just completely affected me. First of all, it reminded me how to LIVE, what it felt like to live, love the world. It was Malpais and everyone at surf camp – you, Danny, Erika, Julia, Melissa… just reminding me what life really is all about, and the ocean and surfing of course. Truly – it’s so awesome that you have Pura Vida and know that everything you’ve created really touches people (me) in more ways than just a “surfing adventure”. It brought the passion back in me to really live and reminded me what pura vida really is.”

Tammy Chang ~ Honolulu, Hawaii

Woman With Sun Screen Smiling in Costa Rica
“Tierza, your passion for what you do comes through in every aspect of the Pura Vida Adventures guest experience. Truly.I feel very privileged to have experienced such a rare and exceptional trip — one that I will certainly treasure for a lifetime. The memories it gave me, the friendships it created, and the existing bonds of friendship it strengthened are already paying dividends back home in the ‘real world’. I really can’t say enough about your extraordinary team…Kathy, Sara, Kalyani, Helen, Ale, and Evelyn of Tropico Latino…I love them all! I meant what I said when I thanked you for creating this business of yours. It is no small feat to have a vision and implement it so masterfully. It takes courage, confidence, faith, perseverance, sacrifice, and passion. THANK YOU.”

Julie Trost ~ Sacramento, CA

Woman Doing Some Yoga Pose During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“The most eloquent words that come to mind when I think about my surf camp adventure in Malpais – life changing. Pura Vida taught me how to surf, how to be tranquil, how to conquer my ocean fears and most importantly… how to enjoy life. The scenery is breathtaking, yoga and surf instruction are fabulous, accommodations are great and the Pura Vida staff are some of the most unpretentious, dedicated, talented and hardworking individuals I have come across in my business dealings. I came to surf camp, never having been on a surfboard. I left 7 days later “hanging 10″, meeting lifelong friends and coming away with the best experience of my life.”

Arlene Bae ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Smiling in Costa Rica Surf Camp
“I wanted to write you an email expressing my absolute ADORATION for PVA. I had an amazing time on my trip and could not have wished for anything more. I raved about it to all of my friends and still haven’t stopped talking about it weeks later. There is nothing better than a bunch of exciting, adventurous women getting together to catch some waves. Lots of laughs, lots of surf, AMAZING food, wonderful accommodations, fantastic instructors, warm water, endless sun, gorgeous sunsets…perfection.”

Jennifer Graham ~Old Chatham, New York

Women Smilling and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you for expanding my horizons as a surfer. I have always loved the ocean, but this experience has truly changed my perspective. . . Hopefully soon I will be tearing up the Jersey shore. . . Thank you for being so wonderful and attentive this week! Now, if only I could master the art of enjoying a cerveza and surfing at the same time. . .”

Jessica ~ New Jersey

Women Hugging and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Just wanted to tell you again what a fantastic week I had at camp! So much positive energy, I feel like I got a shot of pure joy. Still riding the wave! You guys do a great job with everything, and your staff are amazing! I’ll be back for sure next year (and the year after that, and the year after that….), and my friend Elena still says she wants to come back for her 80th!”

Monica Moore ~ Los Angeles

Women With Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida! You guys rock! I didn’t really know what to expect. . . it was awesome, you completely catered to my needs and went above and beyond to make sure I had the best surfing opportunities. The instruction was absolutely great, and the week all round was really relaxing, enjoyable, & a great learning experience! I’ll be telling all my Aussie mates to get over here! Thanks heaps.”

Amy B. ~ Australia

Woman with Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“I just wanted to let you know again how incredibly thankful I am for my experience at Pura Vida Adventures. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The hotel was awesome. The instructors and hosts were caring, funny, knowledgeable, and always made safety a priority. The food was excellent and really, I could go on and on. You seem to have this business down and I have talked non-stop about it since I got back!Thank you again for such an incredible trip. It was trans-formative to say the least and I can’t wait to make it an annual pilgrimage.”

Annie Levitt ~ Los Angeles, CA

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“This has been such an awesome experience – mind opening and fulfilling. The group of women both attending and working at this camp are awe inspiring, powerful, beautiful, worldly and true. They have been an inspiration. I can’t think of a greater way to rediscover myself before I become a mother and take on all of the associated challenge. Thank you for this experience!”

Kate Townley ~ Omaha, NE

Woman Showing the Thumps Up Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I want to express my deepest gratitude to all your staff (very particularly to Josie, Helen, Andy, Brett and Daniel) for the wonderful hosting, surfing lessons and incredibly thoughtful and powerful yoga classes. I feel I have come back to NY a different individual, and that I have improved as a person as a result of my stay in Santa Teresa. I felt that all of them were professionals doing an excellent job but, much more importantly than that, they were caring, inspiring and showed me their warm hearts every day in both conversation and silence. The smile in their faces was contagious. I went on different retreats that were powerful but I do feel that this one stands out and that it has impacted my life much more than words can express. And I believe it is because of the work of your staff, no doubt about it. Through them, I have come back to myself, if that makes any sense to anyone else beyond me.”

Jessica Santos ~ New York

Womain Laughing and Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Surfing was something that’s so different than what I do in my “normal” life. Pura Vida Adventures taught me to slow the “eff” down, enjoy life, and just chill—all while hanging out in an incredible place, eating fantastic food, and having conversations that made me laugh so hard I snorted pineapple-smoothie out of my nose. And the second time was even more incredible than the first. As soon as I walked through the gates of the hotel I had a smile on my face and literally did cartwheels and handstands on the beach my first afternoon there. I fell even more in love with surfing, and more than that, definitely consider Pura Vida my safe haven and happy place. I love the people it attracts, the positive attitudes everyone brings, and the fact that it creates connections that last long beyond the trip. And yeah, I’m already planning on heading back for round three in the not-so-distant future! I love you guys!”

Anna Davies ~ Senior Editor at Cosmopolitan Magazine

Man Surfing During His Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“The best moment was the first time I caught a solid wave. Amazing!!! I can’t believe that just two and half months ago I couldn’t swim and now I am actually surfing and loving it!! There is nothing like facing your fears. After that, I was like, ‘bring it on’, I can do anything. This adventure was revitalizing, relaxing, and healing all in one and went far beyond my expectations. I’m a changed person since this trip and have come back a far better person. I wish I could share this experience with everyone… Click here for Arpita’s inspirational story of conquering her fears.”

Arpita ~ Essex Junction, VT

Woman With Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida gives you the whole experience – the surf, the food, the bonding. Most importantly though – I would like to really highlight how AWESOME your staff is. They were all professional in and out of the water but at the same time, super fun. They really looked out for us and we could all tell that they really wanted us to learn and do well. I honestly can not say enough about how great this camp is… SO worth the bruises and cuts, the bug bites and the tacky bathing suit tans we all come back with. I’d do it all over again in an instant.”

Ako Matsuzaki ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Thank you for the best vacation! I went down to Costa Rica feeling like I was simply walking though life but not actually living it and now I feel more alive than ever. You have an amazing group of instructors and are running a spectacular program.”

Rebecca Steele ~Seattle, Washington

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Start by imagining the perfect week: surfing, yoga, wonderful food, beautiful women, falling asleep to the sound of the waves every night – wake to the sounds of tropical birds in the morning. Maybe see the stars like you’ve never seen them before. Start telling time by the direction of the wind and the tides. Forget what day it is. How hard can you paddle? Drink? Laugh? Double that, and that’s Pura Vida.”

Elizabeth Proctor ~ Pacifica, California

Woman Smiling and Surfing during her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Today while doing yoga, I watched little waves break against the rocks and noticed the colors of the palm trees change from jungle green to lemon-lime. Later at Playa Carmen, I paddled to the outside, sitting on my board in the warm sun, floating up and over waves. I caught a wave, wiped out, and came up smiling. At sunset surf, I caught waves while the moon rose over palm trees while the sea quietly swallowed the sun. Tonight, I gazed at the stars while swinging in the hammock. Pura Vida. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.”

Cathie Bechan ~ Stamford, Connecticut

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“This place is a gem! The people are friendly and welcoming. The sound of the ocean, the trees, the beach. -all so peaceful. – all of it. Soul food and much appreciated. Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Katherine ~ Chicago

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“An amazing time, a magical place, and an adventure for the mind and soul. I couldn’t have had a better vacation. The camaraderie, surfing, food, laughter, chick-chat and the staff all add up to a very sweet moment in time. Thanks for creating an enriching and fabulous experience. An absolute treat for the senses.”

Jen Hunt ~ Oakland, California

Woman Smiling and Surfing in Costa Rica
“This has been the best vacation/experience/surf adventure of all time. We have been so fortunate – this group of women is phenomenal!!! I really can’t express how great this has been. Our first day paddling out in warm water, all I was thinking was how lucky I was to be here. We’ve become fast friends and will continue on in the future, hopefully with a return trip to Costa Rica. Most thanks, appreciation and love to the Pura Vida staff and now friends.”

Karen Wilson ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing in Costa Rica
“The most eloquent words that come to mind when I think about my surf camp adventure in Malpais – life changing. Pura Vida taught me how to surf, how to be tranquil, how to conquer my ocean fears and most importantly… how to enjoy life. The scenery is breathtaking, yoga and surf instruction are fabulous, accommodations are great and the Pura Vida staff are some of the most unpretentious, dedicated, talented and hardworking individuals I have come across in my business dealings. I came to surf camp, never having been on a surfboard. I left 7 days later “hanging 10″, meeting lifelong friends and coming away with the best experience of my life.”

Arlene Bae ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing in Costa Rica
“The week I spent at Pura Vida Adventures would certainly be on my top 10 list of most terrific, fun, fabulous, and best things I’ve ever done in my life. I was fortunate to meet a group of amazing people, surf some waves, and generally revel in the utopian environment that is Mal Pais and Pura Vida Adventures.”

Elizabeth Levy ~ New York

Couples Surfing in Costa Rica
“Here I am sitting at my desk at work and I thought of the story you told of the woman who would look at your website everyday when she felt sad. I thought I would have a hard time re-entering the madness and I was right. So here I am looking at the website and longing for the Pura Vida and thinking of the girls that got to stay an extra few days. Lucky! Thank you so very, very much for such a great week. I had the time of my life. Marla and I love telling the stories of ATVing, surfing and Canopy Zipping and we are spreading the word. We will certainly be back.”

Jennifer McGeorge ~ Brooklyn, New York

Women Doing the Shaka Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I just wanted to pass along a little note to thank all of you for a fantastic trip to Costa Rica. Each of you contributed with your own personal touches to make my Pura Vida experience awesome. I’m still stoked from the inside waves I was able to ride. You only learn to surf and catch your first wave once….I’m so glad that my first surf memories include all of you.”

Wendy Weidman ~ San Francisco, California

Women Walking and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you all for the most fantastic adventure of my lifetime (so far)! There is no other place I would rather be to turn the big 50 than here. Tierza – you rock!! Thanks for making my b-day so special. Erika – You are the bomb!! Your patience, insight, surfing knowledge, energy, and positive attitude are inspiring. I want to be like you when I grow up!!”

Kate Trujillo ~ Oakland, California

Women Surfing in Costa Rica
“What a way to celebrate being 60! AND just what I needed.. a surf vacation in warm water without the bother of a wetsuit. Despite having 5 yrs. of surfing experience, at first I was very intimidated by the waves. However with Brett’s patience, calm encouragement and attentive guidance, I pushed through my fear and discovered that yes, I can ride these waves! Again and again! I gradually relaxed and ended up catching some of the best waves of my life. PVA is not only a great place for beginners, but also the perfect place for those who already can surf, and want to challenge themselves and learn more. And all the instructors are fabulous! Thanks so much for helping me overcome my fears! And for taking such good care of us. The memories will keep me warm.”

Mary Wagstaff ~ Larkspur, California

Man Hanging Loose and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I can’t imagine anything better than spending a week away, getting incredible instruction and meeting great new friends. Thank you for such an amazing experience.”

Jim Rader ~ Portland, Oregon

Women Smiling in the Pool in Costa Rica
“I am in love! What an amazing week and experience with everyone. I am already planning on how I can come back asap. Thank you for helping me reconnect, taking me on this wonderful retreat and checking two more boxes on the never ending bucket list. See you next year. I love Costa Rica !!”

Gemma

Man Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thanks Pura Vida, had a great time and met some really cool peeps. Such a great setup you have down here and your instructors are awesome!”

Nick

Women Hugging and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Wow, what a week! I had such an amazing time this week and truly don’t have words to express the gratitude I have for the team at Pura Vida. All I can say is that I can’t wait to be back. XOXO”

Ali McGill -NYC

Women Waving and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida! Your guys rock! I didn’t really know what to expect. . . it was awesome, you completely catered to my needs and went above and beyond to make sure I had the best surfing opportunities. The instruction was absolutely great, and the week all around was really relaxing, enjoyable, & a great learning experience! I’ll be telling all my Aussie mates to get over here! Thanks heaps.”

Amy B. – Australia

Woman Doing the Yoga Pose and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you so much for a remarkable & eye opening surfing experience. I’m very impressed by the instructors who were friendly & helpful and the awesome food & amenities. You’ve got the right idea and Pura Vida has hit the sweet spot!”

Morgan Manser – Nashville, TN

Man Doing the Shaka Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida offers a first-class program that caters to both men and women looking for an active yet relaxing experience. The accommodations are top-notch, the food is gourmet, and the quality of surf and yoga instruction is unsurpassed for the area. My time at Pura Vida was unreal and unforgettable. It included new experiences and new friends all in a fun and unpretentious setting fostered by the great staff of Pura Vida”

Tyler Rygus ~ Calgary, Canada

Guests Having Drinks At The Pool In Costa Rica Surf Camp
“I am transformed! I can’t believe how much this experience -the place, the surfing, Cristina’s yoga, the pancakes!! -surpassed my expectations. I feel so relaxed and happy and renewed -this really has changed my outlook -I made new friends, chanted mantras, surfed, built fires. -It has been a gift. Thank you.”

Brigit

Women Doing The Shaka Sign At Costa Rica Surf Camp
“You guys & gals totally rock! We loved every minute here and you made us feel completely pampered. We’ll be back and we’ll send our friends.”

Michelle & Mel

Women Celebrating At Costa Rica Surf Camp
“Great solo trip. The surfing instruction was my favorite experience. I came down a bit nervous and left planning my return! I met amazing women, the food was excellent but the planning and organization that this group executes is as good as it gets. The yoga and spa were just more icing on the cake.”

Dana

Guest Reviews on Tripadvisor and Google

beautiful beachfront with top surf instruction

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Incredible surf education with a well-organized program that also leaves room for your own time and personalization. They have great relationships with local restaurants and instructors to provide a smooth experience all around. Loved the hotel on the beach!!

Y K wrote a review Mar 6

Incredible experience!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

My surf camp experience with Pura Vida was everything I hoped for and more! I traveled here on my own, having never surfed before, and today I am headed back home with new friends and surfing 101 experience.
Our host Diane was amazing. She was attentive, proactive, and organized. All the logistics of the week was made easier thanks to her. She was extremely responsive to any and all questions and was always there to help us out. Thank you so much Diane!
Our surf instructors Davide and Michelle were incredible teachers. They break things down step by step and provide you real time feedback as you surf. They radiate positive energy and I am so grateful to have learned how to surf with them. They take safety very seriously and always keep a close eye out.
It’s my understanding that typically there’s an instructor for every 3 or so people so you get very hands on guidance everyday. I was pleasantly surprised that in a very short time period I improved and around day 3, I was definitely able to pop up a lot more consistently than I ever expected.
The best part about this surf camp is that you surf at the beach located right in front of the hotel you’ll stay at for the week (Hotel Tropico Latino). So you simply wake up, pick up your board, and walk right to the beach and get going.
I specifically chose Pura Vida because they are an established group that’s been around for 10+ years, women only (some weeks are coed), and located right on the water. Not all camps are conveniently located right on the water fyi.
One important detail to keep in mind is that unsurprisingly it’s an extremely physically challenging week. Surfing alone is very difficult, but combine that week with extreme heat, humidity and early mornings etc., it will really push you. I exercise fairly regularly but had very sore arms and chest for the entire week and was very tired, so something to keep in mind.
I could go on and on but long story short, I had the BEST time and would recommend Pura Vida to anyone!

suryeonkim wrote a review Mar 6

The trip of a lifetime!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

An absolutely amazing surf trip. Pura Vida Adventures is the perfect way to catch some Costa Rican waves (all levels), make new friends, eat fresh delicious food, and stay in an idyllic location on the beach. The most beautiful sunsets ever just a step out your door- not to mention stepping right into the sand and ocean. And the staff is AMAZING- attentive to any needs, kind, funny, talented… there is no higher recommendation I can give!

Missy L wrote a review Mar 2

Bucket List Checked!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

This was an amazing week learning to surf and meeting fabulous women! I left with a love for surfing and my soul refreshed! What an amazing trip. Pura Vida Adventures was top notch. Our surf instructors were hands down the best!!! Shout out to Tierza, Diane, Lucie, Davide, Michi and Karen!!

miamcp wrote a review Feb 2022

Guided adventure with a top notch crew.

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

What a crew! Great (and patient) instruction in a beautiful tropical haven. I would recommend this well-organized, yet flexible surf/yoga retreat to anyone seeking a little adventure and a boatload of fun.

Janis H wrote a review Feb 2022

Fabulous surf vacation

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I had an amazing vacation. Pura Vida Adventures is a full-service surf program – talented instructors, yoga classes designed to work with the surfing schedule, great resort, concierge service, and delicious food. They have it all! The waves, the team, the town are all perfect. It really was a great trip for someone that loves the sand and surf.

Tracy S wrote a review Feb 2022

A dream location

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

A bucket list trip for sure and a week I will never forget. The surf instructors were so attentive and fantastic and the staff of Pura Vida was beyond amazing. The food was delicious and the Tropico Latino hotel was in an absolutely stunning location. I highly recommend this trip for all levels of surfers looking to improve. Pura Vida!

Elly H wrote a review Jan 2022

Surfing treasure in paradise

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

There’s a reason my wife and I keep coming back to this treasure in paradise. It really is our Happy Place! After months and months of lock downs and cancelled plans we finally made it back. Much has changed in the last two years but, PVA is better than ever. The atmosphere is very chill and laid back, the surf instructors are superior, the food is great and the surfing is amazing. I’m not the most talented surfer but, they are always able to bring the best out of me. Everyone is super friendly, the owners are great, the manager is great and we are always treated like family. We can’t wait to get back. We’ve already booked our next trip!

jglawrie2002 wrote a review Jan 2022

Fantastic!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Pura Vida camp was amazing and exceeded all of my expectations. The surf instruction was the best I’ve ever received. The food was delicious, the instructors were amazing, enthusiastic, encouraging, fun, and wonderful. I absolutely loved this trip.

janine S wrote a review Jan 2022

Must Do!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

GREAT WEEEEEEK!!! Went from no surfing to surfing! Beautiful area, good vibes, great instructors, everything was A+! I rec the superfood salad for lunch 🙂 Will def come back to this spot. Everyone’s awesome! if you don’t do this you’ll regret it forever!!

Meredith D wrote a review Jan 2022

I can't wait to go back!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Everything about this retreat was amazing, from start to finish! The instructors are supportive, professional and fun to work with, giving constructive feedback to help you improve and build your confidence. The whole vibe of the retreat was so fun, happy and relaxed and that definitely carried over into an awesome group of ladies. I showed up to the retreat solo and had a wonderful time getting to know a totally diverse group of rad women that I’ll definitely keep in touch with. It was a week full of great times, laughs, friends, yoga, food and, of course, waves! <3

Emily wrote a review Dec 2021

Amazing week of fun in the sun!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Learning to surf was amazing! So much fun! The hotel was an oasis on the beach with amazing food, drinks, yoga and spa. Surf coaches were kind, patient, knowledgeable and fun. It was an amazing week and hope to go back.

Laurie C wrote a review Dec 2021

Surf, sun and fun

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Meals under the palm trees overlooking the ocean was amazing. Surfing instruction was excellent. Everyone got up riding the waves.

Petra B wrote a review Dec 2021

A family that surfs together...

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I have been to this surf camp four times now, and I keep coming back because these guys kick ass! The surf instructors are knowledgeable, friendly, and encouraging, and the hotel is right on the beach and has great food/drinks. These guys have truly become family, without the bickering, and I can’t wait to go back!

shanone m wrote a review Dec 2021

I loved PVA!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I LOVED PVA! I would go back in a heartbeat, and am trying to do so. I loved that the camp was all women, I loved that the camp started with the distribution of a schedule but that all of the events were optional. I loved the yoga and the food at the hotel was healthy and incredibly tasty, a truly full body and mind focused experience. And of course the surfing and instructors were so fun – what a treat to be totally focused on learning something new and challenging ourselves physically everyday! It was a trip of a lifetime, but one that I want to do again as soon as I can!

Adriana B wrote a review Dec 2021

Good for the soul!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I found the Pura Vida Surf Retreat online during the pandemic and my sister and I booked ourselves a beach and surfing get-away to look forward to. What a treat this turned out to be! Not only spending the week in Costa Rica together with my sister, but spending a week with the 15 other fun and interesting women that we met there. Pura Vida attracts wonderful people–the guests, the proprietor, the manager and the wonderful surf instructors. Everyone was a pleasure to spend time with. We definitely improved our surfing with the skillful and specific instruction and 2 hours of fun surfing every day to practice. The Tropico Latino hotel is perfectly situated on beachfront property and the restaurant is delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful and the atmosphere relaxed. The daily yoga classes and the excellent massages were very nourishing to the spirit. And of course the surfing was fun and exciting. Santa Teresa has a variety of great restaurants and we had a chance to try several of them too. I cannot recommend Pura Vida Surf Retreat more enthusiastically. It was good for the soul and fantastic as a sisters trip. Grab your sister–or a girlfriend–and go!

CourtneywithaC wrote a review Dec 2021

A beautiful location to learn or improve your surfing.

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

What a great surf camp in a beautiful location. The surf and yoga instructors were all awesome. So very supportive and friendly.
I went with a couple of my friends and by the end of the trip had a lot more friends with a similar passion for surfing and enjoyment.
It didn’t matter if you were a complete beginner or had surf experience already, we all got great instruction at the level we needed while having lots of fun.
I really appreciated the attention to safety and etiquette in the water – not something that typically gets explained.

Helen G wrote a review Dec 2021

I learned to surf!! Vida Adventures

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I was invited to join a group of colleagues on a surf adventure. I knew a few of the women but not most. I’d always wanted to learn how to surf but taking the time to do so felt gratuitous. So did traveling internationally during a pandemic.
I was fully vaccinated and boostered, and my husband convinced me to go, but to go with the consideration of those who were working in the travel industry, the work that would allow me to go.
I learned so many things from this trip. I learned that the majority of female colleagues I’d be surrounded by were doctors, seeking a retreat from the numbing odyssey of a caregiver in the time of COVID. I witness exhaustion and stories of care I will never forget. I witnessed people traveling and an infrastructure that is stressed. And short-staffed. And I witnessed acts of generosity and kindness. I also leaned to surf.
Landing in Costa Rica, traveling and staying in Santa Teresa was the most wonderful part of the trip. I experienced the generosity of so many. The Hotel Tropico and its employees were gracious hosts. The staff of Pura Vida were incredible instructors and had me standing on a surfboard on day one. But even more than this — they taught me that surfing is not about just standing on a surfboard. It’s about appreciating the ocean, it’s rhythms and tides. It’s about the underwater landscape as much as the wind. It’s about reading waves and saying yes to what you receive. And also about going when when you are tired, learning to sit something out. I also was grateful because these guides’ love of the ocean and surfing was infectious, and in the process I realized they were doing everything they could to harness the waves and the locations for my best learning experience. That was incredible:
Learning something new is a process that can be frustrating and exhilarating. I returned with the energy and confidence to try surfing again soon. And I know I will return to Pura Vida, to Tierra and Diane and Priscilla and a Lucie and Maya and Nikki and Lalo and Russell and Jose. I can’t wait for this and to greet the Pura Vida warm waters where I learned to love surfing.

katherine e wrote a review Dec 2021

Super, super fun, challenging and relaxing surf trip!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

This was a fantastic trip! We were a bunch of friends from Central Oregon, friends of those friends from the rest of the country, and three strangers who are now part of our friend group.
Experience varied, enthusiasm didn’t—everyone was happy to be there and had a great time! We had 2-3 hours of surfing every day, with one to three people per surf instructor depending on our experience and where we were surfing.
The food was amazing! Lots of fish and local fruits and veggies, some of which were grown on site at the hotel. The drinks were delicious and refreshing. And the site was perfect.
We’re already planning our next trip! This camp will not disappoint!

cbgutmann wrote a review Dec 2021

It was a beautiful getaway matched with great surf instruction and delightful company!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Loooved this retreat! It was a beautiful getaway matched with great surf instruction and delightful company! Michi and Davide were incredible to learn from and completely upped my surf-game by providing specific guidance and great encouragement!! I can’t imagine a better way to spend a week in Costa Rica!

Kristen M wrote a review Nov 2021

Best Instructors! Best accommodations! Best adventures!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Tierza has created a magical surf & yoga retreat! My Surf Instructors were kind, patient, knowledgable, efficient, funny! The Yoga Instructor was intuitive, and catered to our sore surf muscles. The hotel is perfectly located in a jungle setting, right on the sand. The daily surf adventures were so fun! The town of Santa Teresa is beautiful! Costa Ricans are so friendly! The program could not have flowed more smoothly! All of this combined made this an experience of a lifetime!

Jen L wrote a review Nov 2021

Challenging, fun, nourishing retreat!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Themes of the week – friendships, new and old; inspiring/hardworking/driven/strong women; connections; teachings from the ocean; facing fear and challenge. And oh yeah, learning to surf from caring, skilled instructors invested in their students’ success! So grateful for this well curated experience.

Cacaopow wrote a review Nov 2021

The BEST surf lessons in a gorgeous setting

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

The most fun surfing adventure I can imagine and Lucie, Michelle and Davide made all the difference!
Starting with the best – Lucie is amazing in her ability to organize and reorganize everything to create an experience that is perfect for the group and each individual. She radiates light and positivity in everything she does from scheduling a zip line tour to teaching the fundamentals of surfing. In the water she is just as nurturing and empathetic giving very specific cues to improve on every wave.
Michelle and Davide – for me, the very best surf instructors and just adorable together. Davide gives excellent, very precise instruction and pushes you to do what he knows you can do, even if you’re not sure yourself. I will always hear their words in my head as I continue to surf. I wish I’d had another week!
The rest…
The setting is epic – warm, rhythmic waves in every size, vast expanse of beach with a jungle backdrop, cold young coconuts waiting after every surf session.
The food is outstanding – gallo pinto and fresh caught fish, avocadoes and plantains on everything, eggs or pataya bowl for breakfast, lobster salad! Everything is delicious and if you want international fare, it’s a short walk away (but really, you don’t need to leave the hotel restaurant ever!)
The Tropico Latino hotel is charming – set in a true jungle landscape (complete with howler monkeys in the trees) and spanning the most scenic and dynamic beachfront, waking up here is a true delight. The individual casitas are private and spacious if a bit dated. The hotel staff are lovely and really add to the warm and welcoming experience.
The spa is heaven – one massage is included but why stop there? We enjoyed multiple massages and a chakra balance so we are leaving very relaxed and happy.
Yoga was hit and miss – on our particular retreat we had access to the public yoga class at the hotel but the schedule didn’t line up very well with our surfing. If yoga is your primary goal and surfing is secondary you should mention this early to see what they can do. Personally, I did my own flow on the beach at sunrise every day so no complaints!
Santa Teresa is gold – clearly this is spot for surfing. We also enjoyed a zip line through the jungle (so fun!) and a bar on the top of a mountain with an infinity pool overlook. The little town is hopping and seems to be getting busier and more built out by the minute. All the more reason to go NOW!

Carol C wrote a review Jul 2021

An amazing surf & yoga trip

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I discovered Pura Vida Adventures while watching the videos on their YouTube channel and immediately decided to participate, with my wife, in one of their retreats.
And it is little to say that we were more than satisfied !
The Tropico Latino Hotel is charming, intimate, very comfortable and respectful of the environment.
Lucie, the lead instructor, who also took care of the organization of our stay, is wonderful : super professional, always in a good mood, very pedagogue in her teaching of surfing, and also good advice for the after surfing.
A golden girl !
Michelle et Davide, our surf instructors are high level. They allowed me of progress a lot on a technical level, and for my wife, to take her first waves and make her first turns.
We don’t forget the afternoon yoga class. After 3 hours of surfing, it was essential to stretch our muscles and improve our mobility. This allowed us to sleep well !
So we can highly recommend Pura Vida Adventures and for sure : we will be back.
Pierre-Etienne & Mylène. The French Team

Famille34 wrote a review Jul 2021

Best experience I could’ve asked for!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

The most perfect trip I could have asked for! Last time I surfed was 10 years ago. Pura Vida instructors Lucie, Michelle, Davide were the absolute best! They taught me so much and by the end of the trip I felt like a pro. Everything was well organized. Every day was a great experience from breakfast to surfing to yoga and dinner with the group. It was a great mother daughter trip for my mother and I. This is my mother’s second time with Pura Vida adventures and I know why she decided to come back again. I definitely will plan my next Costa Rica trip with them and bring my husband. I definitely recommend booking your surf Adventure with them. You will not be disappointed! Best experience I could’ve asked for! 🏄🏽‍♀️

Samantha J wrote a review Jul 2021

Coming back

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Beautiful location with great food at the restaurant.
Great instructors and hostess. Yoga optional and a great massage in the middle of the week.
All is taken care for you. Only thing left to do is to have fun, surf and explore… Pura Vida!!!

CJB wrote a review Jul 2021

Definitely a ten out of ten

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I had a fabulous time learning to surf with Lucie, Michelle and Davide. I will definitely sign up again next season, and I’m going to buy a surf board to keep up on my new surfing skills as well. Our bungalow in the jungle gave us the true Costa Rican experience (bring plenty of bug repellent) and the food at the resort was delicious and we had a wide variety to choose from (plenty of healthy options).

Karen J wrote a review Jul 2021

One of the best vacations in my life

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Never thought about surfing until I made it to Pura Via Adventures. Thanks to Tierza and her amazing team, I found a new passion! This has been far and beyond my vacation expectations. Highly professional team, exceptional service. Treasured moments, new life long friends!

Tal L wrote a review Mar 2021

Perfect setting to learn and perfect this beautiful sport!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

I’m an active Northwest woman. I ski, I bike, I hike, all the things. But surfing had always Intimidated me. The ocean, the gear, everything seemed overwhelming to enter this sport. Then, a good friend kept encouraging me to do PURA Vida Adventures, a Surf, yoga, retreat. If there was a time or place to learn, Costa Rica couldn’t be a bad place, right? From the start, nothing about the learning process was overwhelming or intimidating. The patient and experienced local instructors took time and care ensuring that I had a slow and successful learning curve. I was encouraged and excited each day to get out there and learn and do more! By day 2, I was out in the “green waves” popping up and getting the incredible feeling of “catching” a wave. And once I felt that “lift” from the wave carrying me on a RIDE on a BOARD in the the OCEAN!!! There was no going back. I’m hooked. I can’t wait to get back into warm water waves and continue to learn and grow as a surfer! PURA Vida has it down. The back-to-back days of instruction from caring local instructors helps you link together sets and practice honing in your surf skills. The warm water and constant waves in the area we were in made it the optimal training spot. And! The food, lodging, and self-care between sessions made you feel pampered and cared for. This week was challenging and life giving. To learn a new skill in this setting was Heaven to me.

Abby B wrote a review Mar 2021

Pura Vida Surf Camp

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Thank you, Tierza, Lucy, Michelle, & Davido and all the hotel staff for a truly wonderful week. Was just the reset I needed. Met some amazing new friends, cleared my head, and rejuvenated my body to kick off 2021. Hard to leave such a magical place – but I will be back!

Dani wrote a review Jan 2021

Amazing Every Time

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

This was my 4th camp with Pura Vida (3rd in Mal Pais) – this one was the best ever. The owner Tierza is a blast – amazing surf instructors. The outing to Cabuya was one of the best things I’ve done in my life. A blast every time – worth every cent – memories and friendships that last forever. Michele, Davide and surf master Lucie are incredible instructors. Highly recommend.

N D G wrote a review Jan 2021

Best. Retreat. Ever!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Went with some friends for the surf and yoga New Years retreat with some friends. We had an absolutely phenomenal time. I never surfed before in my life. After 5 days I was able to get up on the board consistently and surf the whitewater waves in. I got the surfing bug! The accommodations are comfortable and food is fresh and healthy. The town is small, but has a relaxed vibe and there are great food options. Tierza is a fabulous host and she is completely dialed into the area. She was 100 percent present the entire time and really took excellent care of us. Her surf instructors, Lucie, Davide and Michelle are patient, funny, and friendly. If only all of my instructors were like them! The yoga setting was beautiful and serene. Highly recommend this pura vida adventure!

Danica73

Surfing Guru!

5.0 rating
March 22, 2022

Davide was such a passionate, knowledgeable instructor. His ability to break down the technique of surfing into manageable chucks was impressive. Even more impressive was his ability to watch us surfing (often failing;), and find little tips to help us progress. We have taken lessons from other surfing instructors, but never have we had anyone near the caliber of Davide! Pura Vida Adventures instructors and location can not be beat

Scott W

Authentic and exhilarating!

5.0 rating
March 17, 2022

I was able to watch my son learn a whole new sport for years to come. What a relief this was to feel this freedom and learn the lessons of the sea with the guidance of Davide. You can feel the passion from Davide our instructor and it carried over into success for us! I was also very grateful he put safety front and center. He made it fun and creative with acronyms to remember the flow of all the moves that got my son over and over up on that board. Thank you!!!

Traveled with family

Surf Camp

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

Last year I attended my first Pura Vida Surf camp solo and it was an epic adventure. I feel like I learned some really great fundamentals that helped me continue to surf through the year. Then I returned a second time this year, this time with friends. It was even more amazing! Hotel Tropico Latino where the camp is located is fantastic; comfortable and eco-friendly. The spa treatments are great. Nothing beats an outdoor shower after a wrap. The surf instructors are all super top notch and really helped me figure out all the things I still need to work on. It’s actually great to surf the same break with the same instructors over time to see how I’ve improved (or not). I’m already planning my next surf trip back to CR.

Haily

Pura vida women’s surf camp

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

I feel very lucky to have had this experience. All the details were taken care of so I could surf, beach, eat, relax and make new friends. Sara, our host, was extraordinary, and the whole team of skilled instructors made me feel safe while still pushing my boundaries for adventure. Pura Vida was a truly wonderful experience, and I’d highly recommend.

Jennifer

Amazing trip filled with surfing, yoga, adventure and connection

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

If you are looking for a week that will refresh you, energize your spirit and connect you with amazing human beings, look no further. I went on this trip with one of my dear friends, but could have easily showed up by myself and had a ball. Our hostess Sara was such a joy, and went above and beyond to make our experience delightful. The surf instructors (Luice, Michelle, Audrey and Davide) took a group of middle aged, inexperienced kooks and made us feel like REAL surfers by the end of the week. Daniel, our lovely yoga Instructor, led us through classes that were a great balance of relaxation, stretching and mindfulness. The INCREDIBLE, smart, funny and powerful women I met from Canada, California, South Carolina etc. made the week memorable and mean. The food was fresh, healthy and flavorful and the staff at the Tropico was so attentive. I am already dreaming of going back, hopefully soon.

Melinda

Epic Surf Yoga Trip!!!

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

Pura Vida Adventures puts on a fantastic week of surfing and yoga. All of the instructors and staff are highly competent and lovely people. The retreat caters to all levels of surfers and yoga practitioners–from very experienced to novice. If you like an active vacation full of adventure, fun people, delicious food and all around good vibes….. look no further. Pura Vida!!

kppedros

An amazing and unique experience

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

My husband and I absolutely loved our time with Pura Vida Adventures. They truly offered an exceptional and unique experience. They have a terrific team of surf instructors who are able to help you learn and grow in your surfing ability and knowledge. They wonderfully orchestrated all the meals and added fun unexpected touches- we especially enjoyed the unique blends of fresh juices waiting on the table right after the surfing session! The hostess was extremely helpful- from answering questions about the trip to setting up reservations for activities during the downtime to clearly articulating the plan for the day. The entire week was well organized, well taught, and really just so much fun! You can’t beat the beautiful beach location either. The whole experience was a trip we’ll never forget and hope to take again!

Samantha

From terrified of the ocean to catching waves

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

When I first arrived at the camp I was really nervous about the surf part and very excited about yoga. After the first day of working with the amazingly talented surf instructors, I got up on my first wave on my very first try. I immediately started to understand how people get hooked on surfing. Although I was realistic about my comfort level and ability to swim and stay on the inside of the break, I hope someday to graduate to the outside. The conditions in Costa Rica are superb in that the temperature of the ocean is like bath water and the waves are not too big. I highly recommend this surf camp for all levels and although I only got to work with a handful of the instructors, I got to know most of them and they are all really great! I personally worked most with Michelle and Audrey, both of which are great for beginners. Looking forward to getting out there again in the next year or so while surfing locally when possible.

ilovetotravel_505

"Beautiful experience in every sense"..Ready to go again...

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

I had visited Santa Teresa a few years before I found Pura Vida Adventures. I knew I would be back again one day..I couldn’t have asked for a more amazing way to find myself back in this magical surf town. I had essentially zero surfing experience. Surfing for me has been something I have wanted to try but was a bit reluctant. This is why I chose this adventure. Not only that I was really feeling a pull to surround myself with female energy and women that I would never have a chance to meet otherwise. Everything and everyone exceeded my expectations. Sara the camp hostess is amazing. She is kind and very knowledgeable. She made me feel comfortable and at home from the minute I arrived. I was looking for some spiritual experiences as well in this journey and she was so accommodating with my search for this. All of the surf team was amazing as well. They have amazing spirit and are there to cheer you on and see you succeed. Yoga was very much needed daily to stretch and align the body after putting it through wave after wave:) Cristina is such a gentle, grounding energy and that for me was essential. The resort is perfect along with all of the staff. The food is so flavorful and healthy. All that you need to nourish your body. Lastly..The sunsets are the most warming and over the top eye candy I have ever seen. The most relaxing end to such fun and rewarding days.

bodhis_sunshine

Perfect for the solo female adventurer

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

Hubs had some time off and asked me if I wanted to do anything and I said, “YES! I want to go some where ALL BY MYSELF!” I loved the idea of 7 days with some structured activities. I was looking for a week to unwind, bond with other awesome (I hoped!) women, read, meditate, practice yoga and the surfing thing was an added bonus (I originally was looking for just yoga, but heck, why not???). My week in Santa Teresa with Pura Vida Adventures gave me all of that and more – the women ended up being awesome after all! The instructors for both yoga and surfing were welcoming, knowledgeable and really willing to help us progress at any level. Sara was an absolute terrific host; I didn’t really have to think about or plan a thing. I felt really safe at all times and I spent a decent amount of time exploring on my own. Even though I didn’t fall in love with surfing, I would do this again. The only complaint I have is it has been terribly difficult to get back on track now that I am home!

Minnesota G

First wave first day!

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

I read an article about Pura Vida and have been stalking it for a year. I finally took the leap and it was life changing! I’m 53 with no surf experience but got right up and soon was catching my own waves, paddling and turning. Lucie, Audrey, Michelle and Davidae are the most knowledgeable, patient, friendly and fun team you could want. We had a group of varied ages and experience and they challenged us all! Sara is a master hostess and the most organized human I know! She takes care of everything so you’re free to relax and enjoy. The hotel and grounds are peaceful, clean and comfortable.. The staff is helpful and so friendly. I was thoroughly impressed with the fresh, clean delicious food at every meal! Tierza the owner of retreat company was there this week. She surfed and ate with us and has a truly uplifting, infectious energy which shows in all the people she has chosen to workwith. It’s hard to pick a favorite part but the women I met were inspirational, funny, warm and open. It’s amazing to me the universe put me exactly where I needed to be with people I need to have in my life. Take the leap! Do something for yourself and ride that wave into everything life has ahead of you!!

Maura

This was one of my favorite adventures...ever

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

When David sent me the link for this yoga/surf trip in Costa Rica, I jumped right on it! My yoga/surf experience was minimal. Like many before me have stated, the women I met on this trip were the icing on the cake for what was already fun! There was something amazing about all of them, and as a group, we just clicked! I’m a grandmother and did not desire to begin a surfing career, I just wanted to learn something new. I was not the best but I learned a lot and definitely caught waves all by myself! The instructors were skilled (and fun) with even the most needy surfers. 🙂 The food was perfect, the zipline had a special perk, Sara is the best “handler” ever, and I have some new badass sisters. Highly recommend this experience. I came back energized!

Jacque

Amazing week

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

This week completely exceeded my expectations. The surf instructors are truly patient, skilled and so encouraging. The food was fantastic and fresh and all able to be eaten while looking at the ocean. I felt completely spoiled for the week with all of Sara’s organization. She is amazing! I also loved being able to try some of the other fabulous restaurants in the area as well. It was a great week with 11 fabulous women!

James

Should have written this a long time ago

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

I have been to this surf camp 7 times in the last 3 years………clearly I am a huge fan and can not say enough good things about the surf instructors, staff, the hotel and the one road little town I have fallen in love with. So many other travelers have given it 5 stars. I noticed one review that gave it 2 stars and they complained about not having a surf board they liked. Let me tell you that the quiver of boards offered is the best of any camp I have ever been too and when ever I have found a board at a local surf shop in town I wanted to try, the surf camp got it for me to use. Top notch service and worth every penny!!!

Canadian Copilot

Incredible vacation -both fun and relaxing!!

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

I loved just about everything Pura Vida Adventures offered! I joined a fantastic group of ladies from all walks of life. The surf instructors were amazing- super experienced, patient, attentive and kind. I was at first more excited about the yoga than the surfing, but was surprised to find that the surfing was the best aspect of the experience. The water was a perfect warm temperature with a long perfect stretch of soft sandy beach and the surf instruction was in depth and very helpful. The accommodations were beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff at the resort were so friendly and attentive. The food was delicious!!! Santa Theresa is a quaint and fun town with awesome cafes and restaurants and cute surf stores and boutiques. Overall, it was an incredible restorative and fun vacation that I recommend to anyone of all activity levels! Thank you Pura Vida Adventures – I will definitely plan to return with more friends soon!!

Elana

AMAZING experience with like-minded women! Got up on my first wave (even if poor form :)))

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

I didn’t have some long held desire to learn to surf. But for New Years this year I wanted to do get out of my comfort zone, try something new, and meet other awesome women. Pura Vida Adventures delivered on all of these. I had never surfed before but throughout the week I received EXPERT surf instruction. They have really hand picked a great crew. Surfing is challenging and I can’t imagine I would have learned so much so quickly with most lessons. Though I had never surfed before, the team made it approachable for a beginner. My group was full of beginners and by the end of the week we had all improved so much. Catching waves was awesome and empowering!!! But…. meeting other incredible women was a major highlight. I had a feeling the type of women that would be attracted to this would be people I would like to meet. We shared so much about life and had meaningful conversations and connections. I now have friends all over I can meet up with for a chat, surf, or anything really. Thanks for an excellent experience Pura Vida!

Hannah

New Year's Surf/Yoga Retreat was a non-stop adventure!!

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

I initially booked this trip because I wanted to go somewhere tropical and learn how to surf and it ended up being the best decision ever!! I didn’t have to worry about anything all week because everything was planned and organized by Sara and Pura Vida. I’ve never surfed before in my life and the instructors were incredibly knowledgeable and fun to work with! They had us catching our own waves in no time! Every meal I ate at Tropico Latino was delicious and fresh! And I can’t say enough good things about how helpful and accommodating the entire staff of Tropico Latino and Pura Vida are. I still talk to the amazing group of people I met there and I can’t wait to go back!

Alexis

Best Surf lessons, Food, Lodging!!

5.0 rating
May 11, 2020

Wow, what a fabulous week spent in a tropical paradise with the most amazing surfing lessons, spectacular food, lovely and safe grounds and a very gracious staff! Arriving single, it was super easy to make friends in this group of accomplished professionals. As a Kripalu-Certified yoga instructor, I’d like to add that the group’s private yoga teacher was superb. I’m so glad I went, and hope to go back as a more advanced surfer next year!
PS Horseback ride on the beach and waterfall/swim hike were real highlights:)

David