Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“I just had to write and tell you how this trip has just completely affected me. First of all, it reminded me how to LIVE, what it felt like to live, love the world. It was Malpais and everyone at surf camp – you, Danny, Erika, Julia, Melissa… just reminding me what life really is all about, and the ocean and surfing of course. Truly – it’s so awesome that you have Pura Vida and know that everything you’ve created really touches people (me) in more ways than just a “surfing adventure”. It brought the passion back in me to really live and reminded me what pura vida really is.”

Tammy Chang ~ Honolulu, Hawaii

Woman With Sun Screen Smiling in Costa Rica
“Tierza, your passion for what you do comes through in every aspect of the Pura Vida Adventures guest experience. Truly.I feel very privileged to have experienced such a rare and exceptional trip — one that I will certainly treasure for a lifetime. The memories it gave me, the friendships it created, and the existing bonds of friendship it strengthened are already paying dividends back home in the ‘real world’. I really can’t say enough about your extraordinary team…Kathy, Sara, Kalyani, Helen, Ale, and Evelyn of Tropico Latino…I love them all! I meant what I said when I thanked you for creating this business of yours. It is no small feat to have a vision and implement it so masterfully. It takes courage, confidence, faith, perseverance, sacrifice, and passion. THANK YOU.”

Julie Trost ~ Sacramento, CA

Woman Doing Some Yoga Pose During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“The most eloquent words that come to mind when I think about my surf camp adventure in Malpais – life changing. Pura Vida taught me how to surf, how to be tranquil, how to conquer my ocean fears and most importantly… how to enjoy life. The scenery is breathtaking, yoga and surf instruction are fabulous, accommodations are great and the Pura Vida staff are some of the most unpretentious, dedicated, talented and hardworking individuals I have come across in my business dealings. I came to surf camp, never having been on a surfboard. I left 7 days later “hanging 10″, meeting lifelong friends and coming away with the best experience of my life.”

Arlene Bae ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Smiling in Costa Rica Surf Camp
“I wanted to write you an email expressing my absolute ADORATION for PVA. I had an amazing time on my trip and could not have wished for anything more. I raved about it to all of my friends and still haven’t stopped talking about it weeks later. There is nothing better than a bunch of exciting, adventurous women getting together to catch some waves. Lots of laughs, lots of surf, AMAZING food, wonderful accommodations, fantastic instructors, warm water, endless sun, gorgeous sunsets…perfection.”

Jennifer Graham ~Old Chatham, New York

Women Smilling and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you for expanding my horizons as a surfer. I have always loved the ocean, but this experience has truly changed my perspective. . . Hopefully soon I will be tearing up the Jersey shore. . . Thank you for being so wonderful and attentive this week! Now, if only I could master the art of enjoying a cerveza and surfing at the same time. . .”

Jessica ~ New Jersey

Women Hugging and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Just wanted to tell you again what a fantastic week I had at camp! So much positive energy, I feel like I got a shot of pure joy. Still riding the wave! You guys do a great job with everything, and your staff are amazing! I’ll be back for sure next year (and the year after that, and the year after that….), and my friend Elena still says she wants to come back for her 80th!”

Monica Moore ~ Los Angeles

Women With Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida! You guys rock! I didn’t really know what to expect. . . it was awesome, you completely catered to my needs and went above and beyond to make sure I had the best surfing opportunities. The instruction was absolutely great, and the week all round was really relaxing, enjoyable, & a great learning experience! I’ll be telling all my Aussie mates to get over here! Thanks heaps.”

Amy B. ~ Australia

Woman with Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“I just wanted to let you know again how incredibly thankful I am for my experience at Pura Vida Adventures. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The hotel was awesome. The instructors and hosts were caring, funny, knowledgeable, and always made safety a priority. The food was excellent and really, I could go on and on. You seem to have this business down and I have talked non-stop about it since I got back!Thank you again for such an incredible trip. It was trans-formative to say the least and I can’t wait to make it an annual pilgrimage.”

Annie Levitt ~ Los Angeles, CA

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“This has been such an awesome experience – mind opening and fulfilling. The group of women both attending and working at this camp are awe inspiring, powerful, beautiful, worldly and true. They have been an inspiration. I can’t think of a greater way to rediscover myself before I become a mother and take on all of the associated challenge. Thank you for this experience!”

Kate Townley ~ Omaha, NE

Woman Showing the Thumps Up Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I want to express my deepest gratitude to all your staff (very particularly to Josie, Helen, Andy, Brett and Daniel) for the wonderful hosting, surfing lessons and incredibly thoughtful and powerful yoga classes. I feel I have come back to NY a different individual, and that I have improved as a person as a result of my stay in Santa Teresa. I felt that all of them were professionals doing an excellent job but, much more importantly than that, they were caring, inspiring and showed me their warm hearts every day in both conversation and silence. The smile in their faces was contagious. I went on different retreats that were powerful but I do feel that this one stands out and that it has impacted my life much more than words can express. And I believe it is because of the work of your staff, no doubt about it. Through them, I have come back to myself, if that makes any sense to anyone else beyond me.”

Jessica Santos ~ New York

Womain Laughing and Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Surfing was something that’s so different than what I do in my “normal” life. Pura Vida Adventures taught me to slow the “eff” down, enjoy life, and just chill—all while hanging out in an incredible place, eating fantastic food, and having conversations that made me laugh so hard I snorted pineapple-smoothie out of my nose. And the second time was even more incredible than the first. As soon as I walked through the gates of the hotel I had a smile on my face and literally did cartwheels and handstands on the beach my first afternoon there. I fell even more in love with surfing, and more than that, definitely consider Pura Vida my safe haven and happy place. I love the people it attracts, the positive attitudes everyone brings, and the fact that it creates connections that last long beyond the trip. And yeah, I’m already planning on heading back for round three in the not-so-distant future! I love you guys!”

Anna Davies ~ Senior Editor at Cosmopolitan Magazine

Man Surfing During His Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“The best moment was the first time I caught a solid wave. Amazing!!! I can’t believe that just two and half months ago I couldn’t swim and now I am actually surfing and loving it!! There is nothing like facing your fears. After that, I was like, ‘bring it on’, I can do anything. This adventure was revitalizing, relaxing, and healing all in one and went far beyond my expectations. I’m a changed person since this trip and have come back a far better person. I wish I could share this experience with everyone… Click here for Arpita’s inspirational story of conquering her fears.”

Arpita ~ Essex Junction, VT

Woman With Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida gives you the whole experience – the surf, the food, the bonding. Most importantly though – I would like to really highlight how AWESOME your staff is. They were all professional in and out of the water but at the same time, super fun. They really looked out for us and we could all tell that they really wanted us to learn and do well. I honestly can not say enough about how great this camp is… SO worth the bruises and cuts, the bug bites and the tacky bathing suit tans we all come back with. I’d do it all over again in an instant.”

Ako Matsuzaki ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Thank you for the best vacation! I went down to Costa Rica feeling like I was simply walking though life but not actually living it and now I feel more alive than ever. You have an amazing group of instructors and are running a spectacular program.”

Rebecca Steele ~Seattle, Washington

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Start by imagining the perfect week: surfing, yoga, wonderful food, beautiful women, falling asleep to the sound of the waves every night – wake to the sounds of tropical birds in the morning. Maybe see the stars like you’ve never seen them before. Start telling time by the direction of the wind and the tides. Forget what day it is. How hard can you paddle? Drink? Laugh? Double that, and that’s Pura Vida.”

Elizabeth Proctor ~ Pacifica, California

Woman Smiling and Surfing during her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Today while doing yoga, I watched little waves break against the rocks and noticed the colors of the palm trees change from jungle green to lemon-lime. Later at Playa Carmen, I paddled to the outside, sitting on my board in the warm sun, floating up and over waves. I caught a wave, wiped out, and came up smiling. At sunset surf, I caught waves while the moon rose over palm trees while the sea quietly swallowed the sun. Tonight, I gazed at the stars while swinging in the hammock. Pura Vida. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.”

Cathie Bechan ~ Stamford, Connecticut

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“This place is a gem! The people are friendly and welcoming. The sound of the ocean, the trees, the beach. -all so peaceful. – all of it. Soul food and much appreciated. Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Katherine ~ Chicago

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“An amazing time, a magical place, and an adventure for the mind and soul. I couldn’t have had a better vacation. The camaraderie, surfing, food, laughter, chick-chat and the staff all add up to a very sweet moment in time. Thanks for creating an enriching and fabulous experience. An absolute treat for the senses.”

Jen Hunt ~ Oakland, California

Woman Smiling and Surfing in Costa Rica
“This has been the best vacation/experience/surf adventure of all time. We have been so fortunate – this group of women is phenomenal!!! I really can’t express how great this has been. Our first day paddling out in warm water, all I was thinking was how lucky I was to be here. We’ve become fast friends and will continue on in the future, hopefully with a return trip to Costa Rica. Most thanks, appreciation and love to the Pura Vida staff and now friends.”

Karen Wilson ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing in Costa Rica
“The most eloquent words that come to mind when I think about my surf camp adventure in Malpais – life changing. Pura Vida taught me how to surf, how to be tranquil, how to conquer my ocean fears and most importantly… how to enjoy life. The scenery is breathtaking, yoga and surf instruction are fabulous, accommodations are great and the Pura Vida staff are some of the most unpretentious, dedicated, talented and hardworking individuals I have come across in my business dealings. I came to surf camp, never having been on a surfboard. I left 7 days later “hanging 10″, meeting lifelong friends and coming away with the best experience of my life.”

Arlene Bae ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing in Costa Rica
“The week I spent at Pura Vida Adventures would certainly be on my top 10 list of most terrific, fun, fabulous, and best things I’ve ever done in my life. I was fortunate to meet a group of amazing people, surf some waves, and generally revel in the utopian environment that is Mal Pais and Pura Vida Adventures.”

Elizabeth Levy ~ New York

Couples Surfing in Costa Rica
“Here I am sitting at my desk at work and I thought of the story you told of the woman who would look at your website everyday when she felt sad. I thought I would have a hard time re-entering the madness and I was right. So here I am looking at the website and longing for the Pura Vida and thinking of the girls that got to stay an extra few days. Lucky! Thank you so very, very much for such a great week. I had the time of my life. Marla and I love telling the stories of ATVing, surfing and Canopy Zipping and we are spreading the word. We will certainly be back.”

Jennifer McGeorge ~ Brooklyn, New York

Women Doing the Shaka Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I just wanted to pass along a little note to thank all of you for a fantastic trip to Costa Rica. Each of you contributed with your own personal touches to make my Pura Vida experience awesome. I’m still stoked from the inside waves I was able to ride. You only learn to surf and catch your first wave once….I’m so glad that my first surf memories include all of you.”

Wendy Weidman ~ San Francisco, California

Women Walking and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you all for the most fantastic adventure of my lifetime (so far)! There is no other place I would rather be to turn the big 50 than here. Tierza – you rock!! Thanks for making my b-day so special. Erika – You are the bomb!! Your patience, insight, surfing knowledge, energy, and positive attitude are inspiring. I want to be like you when I grow up!!”

Kate Trujillo ~ Oakland, California

Women Surfing in Costa Rica
“What a way to celebrate being 60! AND just what I needed.. a surf vacation in warm water without the bother of a wetsuit. Despite having 5 yrs. of surfing experience, at first I was very intimidated by the waves. However with Brett’s patience, calm encouragement and attentive guidance, I pushed through my fear and discovered that yes, I can ride these waves! Again and again! I gradually relaxed and ended up catching some of the best waves of my life. PVA is not only a great place for beginners, but also the perfect place for those who already can surf, and want to challenge themselves and learn more. And all the instructors are fabulous! Thanks so much for helping me overcome my fears! And for taking such good care of us. The memories will keep me warm.”

Mary Wagstaff ~ Larkspur, California

Man Hanging Loose and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I can’t imagine anything better than spending a week away, getting incredible instruction and meeting great new friends. Thank you for such an amazing experience.”

Jim Rader ~ Portland, Oregon

Women Smiling in the Pool in Costa Rica
“I am in love! What an amazing week and experience with everyone. I am already planning on how I can come back asap. Thank you for helping me reconnect, taking me on this wonderful retreat and checking two more boxes on the never ending bucket list. See you next year. I love Costa Rica !!”

Gemma

Man Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thanks Pura Vida, had a great time and met some really cool peeps. Such a great setup you have down here and your instructors are awesome!”

Nick

Women Hugging and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Wow, what a week! I had such an amazing time this week and truly don’t have words to express the gratitude I have for the team at Pura Vida. All I can say is that I can’t wait to be back. XOXO”

Ali McGill -NYC

Women Waving and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida! Your guys rock! I didn’t really know what to expect. . . it was awesome, you completely catered to my needs and went above and beyond to make sure I had the best surfing opportunities. The instruction was absolutely great, and the week all around was really relaxing, enjoyable, & a great learning experience! I’ll be telling all my Aussie mates to get over here! Thanks heaps.”

Amy B. – Australia

Woman Doing the Yoga Pose and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you so much for a remarkable & eye opening surfing experience. I’m very impressed by the instructors who were friendly & helpful and the awesome food & amenities. You’ve got the right idea and Pura Vida has hit the sweet spot!”

Morgan Manser – Nashville, TN

Man Doing the Shaka Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida offers a first-class program that caters to both men and women looking for an active yet relaxing experience. The accommodations are top-notch, the food is gourmet, and the quality of surf and yoga instruction is unsurpassed for the area. My time at Pura Vida was unreal and unforgettable. It included new experiences and new friends all in a fun and unpretentious setting fostered by the great staff of Pura Vida”

Tyler Rygus ~ Calgary, Canada

Guests Having Drinks At The Pool In Costa Rica Surf Camp
“I am transformed! I can’t believe how much this experience -the place, the surfing, Cristina’s yoga, the pancakes!! -surpassed my expectations. I feel so relaxed and happy and renewed -this really has changed my outlook -I made new friends, chanted mantras, surfed, built fires. -It has been a gift. Thank you.”

Brigit

Women Doing The Shaka Sign At Costa Rica Surf Camp
“You guys & gals totally rock! We loved every minute here and you made us feel completely pampered. We’ll be back and we’ll send our friends.”

Michelle & Mel

Women Celebrating At Costa Rica Surf Camp
“Great solo trip. The surfing instruction was my favorite experience. I came down a bit nervous and left planning my return! I met amazing women, the food was excellent but the planning and organization that this group executes is as good as it gets. The yoga and spa were just more icing on the cake.”

Dana

Guest Reviews on Tripadvisor and Google

A Life-Changing Experience

October 23, 2018

I was on the hunt for a week away from my regular routine of life, something to help me recharge and also refocus. On a bit of a whim, I decided to book a retreat with Pura Vida Adventures. From the moment I arrived until the moment I left, the experience was simply amazing. Tierza and the team are incredibly welcoming, friendly, and encouraging. I had never stood up on a surfboard before but within days I was paddling out to the outside and riding waves I had only ever watched from the shore. As a complete beginner, full credit has to go to the team for the quality of instruction along with the video coaching and tips while out on the water. The daily yoga was also the perfect way to recharge for the next day, and with lots of great dining options nearby, plus the beautiful sunset each night, every day with PVA truly felt like a gift. I came to PVA as a solo traveler looking for a change of pace and a refreshed perspective on my daily life. I left with new friends that will last a lifetime, renewed energy and gratitude, and a brand new passion for surfing. It seems like such a small and trivial thing to learn how to pop up onto a surfboard and catch a wave, but through PVA it was a life-changing experience that I’ll never forget.

Adrian

Learn new things about yourself

August 29, 2018

Do you want to learn new things about yourself through the Pura Vida Adventures pleasure of learning how to surf? This is the Surf /Yoga Retreat that sets the bar to the MAX. At PVA, I made new lifelong friendships and learned how to surf the right way. Believe it or not … rules of surfing safely will allow you to surf anywhere in the world. So why Pura Vida? The surf instruction is superior. I felt safe, supported and properly informed. Surf etiquette, board and ocean safety are essential for surfing. These skills must be taught and practiced. The immersion for a week really helps! I now feel confident surfing my home breaks in California. In fact, I have earned respect in the line up because I am following the right rules. I also loved it so much I am going back for more in November. As a solo traveler, I enjoyed the extra care and attention from everyone and I can’t wait to go again.

Simone

Very special

August 28, 2018

Pura Vida Adventures is one of those special things you find in your life that you want to share with all your family and friends. I am on my 7th time going to camp this spring and I am so excited to surf like crazy and to be coached by the amazing instructors, eat delicious food and chill at the beautiful resort. Tierza and her crew make every part of camp so fun, no two times are alike. If you haven’t gone to surf camp, now is the time!

Andrea

Every time is amazing

August 28, 2018

I have now done 4 trips with Pura Vida Adventures, and every single one has been amazing. The staff does a fantastic job of customizing the experience to meet your personal needs, and the team of surf instructors truly are all stars. Every time I have gone my surfing has improved by leaps and bounds. I have am an experienced surfer and, but the program also caters to absolute beginners. Regardless of level, everyone is able to thrive and excel because the instructors are so attentive and thoughtful. The location is absolutely stunning. Nestled in a remote area with long stretches of beach is the little eco lodge that hosts PVA. A phenomenal spa, pool, and plenty of hammocks facilitate post-surf relaxation, and the open-air yoga deck is a beautiful setting for sunrise and sunset yoga classes. The food provided by the camp is delicious, and there are tons of fantastic restaurants in the surrounding area. The most unforgettable parts of the trip are always the time spent on the water: taking risks, laughing with friends and instructors, and cheering each other on. I hope I will be able to go back soon.

Isabella

Trip of a lifetime

August 9, 2018

Trip of a lifetime – best waves, surf and people!

Alicia

Blissful surf trip!

August 6, 2018

This was my 5th trip with Pura Vida Adventures. Consistent surf, wonderful instructors and staff, and stunning beachfront location keeps me coming back year after year!

Julie

First time, and I couldn't have felt safer

August 6, 2018

I went on this surf yoga retreat with my best friend from college. I had just finished building a company for 7 years, have two kiddos and was exhausted. I was also a little nervous to surf because I hadn’t really before and wanted to get more comfortable in the waves and water. This trip was just what I needed! I surfed and did yoga everyday, got massages and the best care I could have asked for. Every detail was handled for me and I felt so safe in the water. Not only that – I caught the best waves of my life and will never forget it. Our group was amazing and made friends and memories that will last a lifetime. Keep doing what you’re during Pura Vida Adventures. I’ll definitely be back!

Alicia

Hope to be back again soon

August 5, 2018

I have never really surfed and came down solo to learn and continue practicing yoga. The time spent with the crew at PVA was amazing. Great group of surf instructors who took time to teach and coach and gave me a strong foundation to build on. Yoga was great and geared toward each surf day to help the body recover. Everything was very organized and a lot of fun with a casual and calm experience. The food was awesome and the accommodations were clean, comfortable and quiet. There was a nice mix of beginners and expienced surfers and met some amazing and fun people I am sure I will keep in touch with. I highly recommend and hope to be back again soon.

Jeff

Amazing

August 2, 2018

Last November I spent one week learning to surf at Pura Vida Aventures in Sta Teresa,Costa Rica. I could not have met more wonderful people ever. The owner of the Surf Camp as well as the staff members are amazing! And of course surfing was perfect. I strongly recommend woman travelling solo or with friends to consider doing this!!! Even couples can join the Surf Camp and have the time of their lifes!!! I turned 50 years old that month and I had an awsome party

Hilda

10/10 would recommend

August 1, 2018

I loved everything about Pura Vida Adventures. I had never surfed before and had never been to Costa Rica and the experience exceeded my expectation. Costa Rica is a magical country and the Pura Vida retreat was amazing. In one week I got the surfing basics and was able to ride waves. The instructors were very helpful, fun and patient. I loved the team, food, yoga and adventures. I highly recommend.

Elizabeth

top-notch scenery and accommodations

May 22, 2018

My Pura Vida Adventures vacation was everything I hoped for and more. The daily surf instruction, the nonstop food, the daily beachfront yoga, the scenery and accommodations were all top-notch. Everything was planned and executed well. If you’re a woman traveling alone wondering if it is safe to travel alone, it is (of course, with the usual precautions). The majority of our group stuck together for nights out or walks into town, so you are never really alone throughout the week. One piece of advice I will give to anyone considering a surf camp is the more fit you are, the better. Your upper body strength and overall conditioning will allow you to get the most out of your surf instruction and time in the water. Fighting the ocean is no small task! And bring a bottle of Advil and insect repellent! Also recommended are high quality band-aids, like Nexcare or silicone. I scraped up my knees pretty bad on the first day on the soft top boards and almost ruined the rest of my surf time. Luckily staff had a well stocked first aid kit which I raided each morning. There is also a grocery store right across the road for anything you may need. The rooms do not provide amenities like body lotion and shampoo/conditioner, so bring your own. Overall, it was a deeply fulfilling and life-enriching experience, one I will never forget. One month out, I still find myself daydreaming about my awesome surf adventure in Costa Rica. I am already planning my return trip. Thank you PVA team for the most amazing time!

Lynn

Just do it

May 9, 2018

If you’ve been thinking of joining a PVA surf/yoga retreat, stop thinking about it and do it. You won’t regret anything about it, instead, you’ll come away with magical memories and perhaps a new perspective on what it means to truly LIVE! From my first apprehensive email to the last breakfast at camp, I was looked after with care. The hotel is situated on the beach, which means incredible sunsets and afternoon hammock naps are just steps away. The food at the hotel was great, and I personally enjoyed the fresh fruit smoothies each day. Sarah looked after each detail on land, whilst Helen and Luice kept us motivated in the water. Helen is a treat and it was never a dull moment! We laughed so much with her! And Luice’s grounded energy made me feel like no matter how I felt about surf in any given moment, it was ok. These ladies are extraordinary coaches. I caught many waves, including green waves at Cabuya! This would not have been possible without their guidance, PATIENCE, and support. I cannot was to come back for my next Pura Vida Adventures adventure!! #kookqueenz

Alicia

We cannot wait to return!

April 25, 2018

I came to PVA without a bit of surfing experience with my 15 year old daughter who had some surfing experience. This was the best vacation for us – I was able to watch my daughter grow in confidence – not only because she was better than me but because the other women in our group treated her as an equal. I could literally see her confidence growing by the day. Since we arrived home, my daughter has a newfound respect for me as she watched me try and try again until I was able to catch a wave and stand up. (Not to mention that all her friends said their moms would never learn to surf.) The staff at PVA are the best teachers – funny, kind, patient and have a huge amount of knowledge that will get you standing on the board within a few days. The hotel and food are wonderful, so many options and they accomodate all tastes and diets. The location is remote and unspoiled, which I loved. The best part is that the staff of PVA take care of everything from who picks you up at the airport to making dinner reservations – a real treat for the moms who organize everything for their families. We cannot wait to return!

Charleen

I will be back!

April 20, 2018

Celebration with my daughter for my 60th birthday! It was the best vacation I have ever taken. The accommodations were lovely. The Pura Vida staff (felt more like family) were the best! Meeting amazing strong women and sharing stories and creating a supportive bond was indescribable. Surf instructors especially Davide 💜 were patient, kind, funny and positive. It was a physical and spiritual transformation. I left a piece of my heart in Costa Rica. You will not regret for a moment taking the Pura Vida Adventure. I will be back!

Susan

I cannot recommend it highly enough

April 17, 2018

This is the second time I went to Pura Vida Adventures and both times were absolutely amazing. I went solo but that was not a problem at all. I felt very safe traveling to Costa Rica by myself. All women that were at the retreat were super friendly, open, and very excited to take on this adventure together. Tierza, Helen, Sara and the rest of the Pura Vida team took great care of every one of us and they created a magical retreat that is equal parts adventure and relaxation. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Also, the hotel is absolutely beautiful, right by the beach and the staff is friendly and attentive. The food at the restaurant is outstanding and there are many great restaurants in walking distance, Israeli, Asian Fusion, Mexican, etc. For a small town with only a handful of stores and dirt road for it’s main street, the selection of restaurants is unbelievably good.

Maria

Wonderful

April 15, 2018

A terrific vacation all around! Great food, great surf instructors, a beautiful beach and lots of laughs and now some new friends. I can’t wait to go back!

Susan

Thanks!

April 9, 2018

Wow what an awesome adventure! Pura Vida provided some of the best instructors from all over the world. Surfing was exceptional and I look forward to coming back! Thank you to you all.

Kerri

A transforming experience

April 5, 2018

The week I spent on retreat with Pura Vida Adventures (PVA) was nothing short of life changing. I am a 38 year old woman who lives in Philadelphia and works non-stop as an attorney. I decided that I would fulfill the lifelong dream of heading off on an adventure by myself to surf in Costa Rica. The funny thing is, before coming to PVA, I was neither a surfer or someone who did yoga. Just a woman who works too much who wanted to try something way outside my everyday experience with the hopes of finding peace and empowerment. I found both and in more ways than I can measure. From start to finish every single detail was carefully thought out and executed and every moment was complete magic. First and foremost, the incredible team of surf instructors, yoga instructors, staff and crew are so much more than just the people working to make sure you have an enjoyable time, these folks are true joy personified. By the end of the week I left knowing I had made friends and shared an incredible journey with the whole team. I will be forever grateful for their kindness and the great times we all shared. I started off as a rookie/beginner (to put it kindly) when it comes to surfing. The team of instructors I worked with (Helen, Ale, Davide, and Michelle) were spectacular! Their patience, positivity and incredible skill in teaching blew me away and allowed me to transform from someone who could barely lay on a board on the sand to standing up and surfing the waves into the shore by week’s end. Their love of surfing and Costa Rica is infectious and will stay with me always. Not only was I a complete novice to surfing, but to yoga as well. With the exception of 2 or 3 yoga classes at my local gym, I have had no experience with yoga. Yoga was this unknown thing to me that I have always wanted to do, but seemed to never find time for. I also figured I would be absolutely terrible at it since I am not at all flexible, my mind is always going a million miles a minute and tend to not hold still not more than a couple seconds at a time. The yoga instruction by the PVA team was outstanding, welcoming, thorough and one of the most relaxing and restorative things I have ever done in my life. Each day we had yoga classes while facing the gorgeous beach under the shade of beautiful huts surrounded by palm trees and ocean breeze. The scene is truly something out of a movie it is so wonderful. I was able to learn about yoga in the physical and spiritual sense while on this retreat. I found peace and a sense of calmness that I have never experienced and will hold on to as I now begin my journey into practicing yoga. I will forever be grateful for this experience. When it comes to the food, service and accommodations of the Hotel Tropico Latino where you will be staying, you can rest assured that all are outstanding! The hotel itself consists of several little houses/buildings that all have wonderful, comfortable rooms with A/C, refrigerators, rainfall showers, free wi-fi, TV, fans, great areas for lounging and a clean and comfortable bed. The hotel sits on an untouched beach among a gorgeous tropical jungle; it is truly paradise! There’s a wonderful pool that you will enjoy relaxing in after surfing and yoga, hammocks everywhere for a nap or good book and a spa that sits nestled in the trees with the sounds of the ocean waves crashing and birds singing as you indulge in the many excellent spa treatments available. I had three massages, a facial and a manicure and pedicure while I was there and absolutely loved it all. Very reasonable pricing for the outstanding experiences. The hotel service staff will know your name within the first day and they are some of the kindest, most welcoming and attentive people I have ever experienced. Not only to they prepare and serve wonderfully fresh, local and healthy food and smoothies, but they will remember your favorite post-surfing cocktail and genuinely want to know how your day on the waves went. The food is fantastic and there’s a ton of it! The hotel’s restaurant pride’s itself on local, sustainable ingredients and their dedication shows. We also went out to several local restaurants that were all excellent and within a very short walk. For me, the experience of learning something new and something that was difficult at first was such an empowering experience. In our retreat there was a mix of women who traveled to PVA solo, a few mothers with their daughters, and some sisters. I cannot recommend this experience enough for any woman, coming solo or with a family member or friend, who is looking for a truly unique and life changing experience. I will return again year after year for this amazing week! I cannot thank Tierza enough for creating this adventure many years ago that has touched so many lives! You all rock!

Nellie

The team is amazing

April 2, 2018

I can not put in to words how amazing Sara and the whole surf team are. Helen, Michelle, Davide, Ali and Lucy were so patient, kind and FUN!!! Having Sara guide us through our days made a very busy week super relaxing. She is kind, funny and simply adorable:-) Davide was an amazing instructor and I appreciated the fact that he truly wanted me to enjoy my surf experience, and I did! Catching a few final waves with Lucy on Friday was the perfect end to my week! Thank you to the whole team, it was amazing.

Pam

Exceeded all my expectations

March 2, 2018

I was bitten by the surf bug several years ago. Because I don’t live close to a good surf break, I try to take several trips a year to surf camps where I will hopefully get excellent surf instruction as well as comfortable accommodations, good service, and good food. I’ve now stayed at several luxury surf camps, but Pura Vida is the first camp where I truly felt that all of my requirements were not only met, but exceeded. The Pura Vida staff are all professionals. From the day you book your trip through your last day at the resort, you’ll have a number of folks ready and waiting to make sure you enjoy your stay and that you have everything you possibly need. Although the week is largely planned with your surf, dining, and yoga sessions built in, you’ll have a fair bit of free time and ability to dine on your own for several meals so you can explore Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. Simply, the structure is there if you want it, but no one will stand in your way if you want to do your own thing. Don’t discount the structure though – the planned activities really allow you to get to know your fellow campers and the people you meet and get to know will be one of the best things you experience during the week. The resort itself is impeccably designed. It blends in with the scenery and feels like it has been there all along. The rooms are beautiful, beds comfortable, and AC quite chilly. The spa is a treat not to be missed. The resort’s restaurant cooks up some delicious food. Finally, no matter where you are on the surf ability spectrum, you’ll finish the week a better surfer and with a number of suggestions for small tweaks you can make to your existing technique that will enable you to continue to improve in the future. You’re not surfing with people who just picked up the sport a couple of years ago and can catch a wave. Your surf instructors have decades of combined experience, some have competed professionally, and all of them will have a way of explaining how you can improve, e.g., your foot and arm positioning and hip rotation to be more balanced and stable on the board, make cleaner turns, and surf with more confidence in a way that makes you feel like you’re having a “Eureka!” moment every single time they explain something to you. I only have one regret after my one week with Pura Vida – that I didn’t stay for two.

Tamara

Perfection! Already planning my third visit!

March 2, 2018

I was bitten by the surf bug several years ago. Because I don’t live close to a good surf break, I try to take several trips a year to surf camps where I will hopefully get excellent surf instruction as well as comfortable accommodations, good service, and good food. I’ve now stayed at several luxury surf camps, but Pura Vida is the first camp where I truly felt that all of my requirements were not only met, but exceeded. It’s such an amazing combination of waves, instruction, food, people, etc. that after my first trip in February 2018, I went back in July to say farewell to the head surf instructor and see some of my old friends. I’m already planning my next trip there for 2019. The Pura Vida staff are all professionals. From the day you book your trip through your last day at the resort, you’ll have a number of folks ready and waiting to make sure you enjoy your stay and that you have everything you possibly need. Within a day, the resort staff knew my name and went out of their way to check up on me to see how I was doing. When I went back in July for my second trip, they still remembered my name and where I was from and were always ready with a smoothie, plate of fruit for me to snack on when I had to spend a few hours working in the afternoon in the bar, and some wonderful conversation. When you arrive, you’ll notice that the week is largely with your surf, dining, and yoga sessions built in, but you’ll have a fair bit of free time and ability to dine on your own for several meals so you can explore Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. Simply, the structure is there if you want it, but no one will stand in your way if you want to do your own thing. Don’t discount the structure though – the planned activities really allow you to get to know your fellow campers and the people you meet and get to know will be one of the best things you experience during the week. I not only kept in touch with a number of the folks I met last February, but the last trip in July felt like summer camp. Now I have friends all over the country that I can visit and surf with 🙂 As for the resort, I’d stay there even if I wasn’t surfing. The rooms are beautiful, beds comfortable, and AC quite chilly. The spa is a treat not to be missed. The resort’s restaurant cooks up some delicious food. And you’re close to everything you’d want in town. Finally, no matter where you are on the surf ability spectrum, you’ll finish the week a better surfer and with a number of suggestions for small tweaks you can make to your existing technique that will enable you to continue to improve in the future. You’re not surfing with people who just picked up the sport a couple of years ago and can catch a wave. Your surf instructors have decades of combined experience, some have competed professionally, and all of them will have a way of explaining how you can improve, e.g., your foot and arm positioning and hip rotation to be more balanced and stable on the board, make cleaner turns, and surf with more confidence in a way that makes you feel like you’re having a “Eureka!” moment every single time they explain something to you. I can’t wait to see my old friends again in 2019!

Tamara

we'll be back! 🙂

February 23, 2018

We had a fabulous week at Pura Vida Adventures February 17-23 Co-Ed Surf & Yoga Adventure! Tierza and her team have created a unique experience for the guests of Pura Vida Adventures at Hotel Tropico. We loved the Hotel Tropico! The exceptionally attentive and caring staff; the beach bungalows; the quaint setting; plus the artistically presented, fresh, flavourful and healthy food. The grounds are small but special. The sunsets and beach gorgeous! The yoga studios overlooking the beach, stunning! It was an exhilarating, special week with our kids. Tierra set a cool vibe for the week at our first meet and greet. We knew it was going to be an amazing week! Sara, our Pura Vida Adventures Hostess was very organized and catered effortlessly to all of our special dietary requirements. Our surf instructors, Helen, Audrey, Lucie, Davide, Russel, Celine, and Allie were fabulous teachers! They are all unique, lovely, encouraging, (aggressive when the waves, or safety, require it), knowledgeable and fun instructors. We were sad leaving as it felt like we had known them all far longer than just one week. Helen has some fabulous surf videos. She gives great instruction in a funny, memorable way. Well worth taking the time to review. The magical, open air daily yoga sessions, overlooking the beach, with unbelievable sunsets, are not to be missed. Our yoga instructor, Daniel, was very knowledgeable, spiritual yet funny, and always well prepared with a lesson tailored to whatever we did that day surfing. We seldom do repeat vacations but hope we can return again soon. Our son says he is moving there, so I guess if we want to see him, we’ll be back! 🙂

Martha

would highly recommend

February 22, 2018

My wife and 2 children (age 20 & 21) attended the Pura Vida surf camp for the first time. We were all beginner surfers with the exception of our son who started surfing a year ago. The Pura Vida team of instructors was fantastic. Each day was well organized with surfing lessons tailored to each persons level of experience. We generally surfed in the early morning, under the guidance of 7 very experienced surf instructors. All the surf instructor staff were super pleasant, positive and fun people. The meals were delicious and healthy choices. The hotel site was amazing, situated on an incredible beach with the sound of a pounding surf 24 hours a day. The hotel staff were exceptional. We also thoroughly enjoyed the yoga sessions at end of the days. The surf/yoga combination was a nice way to relax our tired muscles at the end of the day as the sun was going down. There was also a complimentary massage included which was awesome for our tired bodies around mid week. Our family had a trip of a life time and would highly recommend the Pura Vida team!! We are hooked on surfing and will definitely be back with Pura Vida team

Bill

Had a great time!

February 17, 2018

Went to The New Year’s Co-Ed Surf retreat. Had a great time! The entire crew is super friendly and supportive. Tierza and Scott will go that extra mile to make sure your individual experience is just right. The other gem Sara, I cannot say enough wonderful things about her, was on top of everything and made sure we all were fed, and ready for surfing or yoga or whichever destination we were headed to! I love Costa Rica so it’s really hard for me to have a negative anything to say about the place. The ocean is strong and it was good for me to step back a little with surfing. Celine was a wonderful support in her surf instruction. (Actually all the instructors were tops). I had a few surgeries in the last couple of years and if anything, this trip gave me the confidence to get fully back into my work outs at home. I think I had been more fearful of reinjuring myself but when I arrived home I realized that I’ve indeed become stronger! Yoga everyday at the retreat was amazing. The instructor, Rebecca, is just lovely and having done yoga prior to my injuries, she made me feel ready to get back into my practice. For all of this I’m grateful. I hope to surf again soon! Thanks guys for a great trip and for helping me get some confidence back!

Val

best surf camp

February 13, 2018

Pura Vida is the best surf camp and not only for beginners. I’ve been going to them for over 10 years and their expert instructors always push me and improve my surfing with their endless tips and pointers. They teach all skill and age levels and the student/teacher ratio is purposely low. Pura Vida uses professional videos to analyze the strengths and weaknesses of each student which rapidly increases awareness and improvements. And if the waves aren’t quite right, they’ll bus the students to a different beach. Malpais has many prime surf spots, the weather is always wonderful, and the crystal clear water is beautiful. And Tropico Latino is a gem, located right on the beach with fabulous food, wonderful staff, and serene yoga pavilions. A perfect place for the perfect surf experience – I’ve ridden the best waves of my life here.

Jerri

Highly recommend!

January 22, 2018

Best vacation of my life! The hotel, staff, food, beach, surfing, and everything else was nothing short of incredible. They make something as hard as surfing fun and easy and provide an experience you’ll never forget. Highly recommend!

Connor

Highly recommend this trip!

January 4, 2018

I’ve never surfed before and I can’t imagine trying it out any other way! Pura Vida Adventures is a real first class group of people with big hearts and adventurous spirits!

Danielle

GREAT vacation!!

November 29, 2017

Surfing, yoga, adventures, new life long friends! This is my 2nd trip to PVA. I was a little hesitant to compare the two trips.., not wanting to over anticipate the fun and excitement trying to recreate an experience that comes with a vacation like Costa Rica,,, Once again, a GREAT vacation!! Pura Vida Adventures, amazing surf instructors… truly caring and supportive!! Will be back, again and again!!

Kathy

Thank you

November 29, 2017

I am more than grateful that I spent this adventureous „Surfsgiving“ week with full of surfing, yoga, meeting new friends, great food, a lot of laughing, zipline activity, Video analysis and pictures. I have never expected that it is possible to teach me pop up on a surfboard within one week, but the amazing instructors from Pura Vida Adventures makes dreams alive. Thank you so much for your patient and passionate way of teaching which is outstanding!!! I joined the camp as a swiss woman by myself and left the camp filled with life changing Ocean experiences and a lot new Friends. During the surf week Pura Vida Adventure took care of all we need, from food till massages. With this week-long experience you made my start into surfing and much more! THANK YOU!! And hopefully see you again. Pura Vida, Caroline alias Mariposa

Caroline

Absolutely loved my trip

November 18, 2017

Don’t know really where to begin. I was at the surf camp this week (11/11/17) and can’t say enough about Pura Vida Adventures. I came to this surf camp not knowing anyone and never have picked up a board. Also add to that I am older than the “normal” new surfer. The staff at PVA helped me prove you are never too old to learn something new. From the first person I came in contact with (❤️Sarita❤️) to the instructors Helen, Audrey and Anne. I could have never accomplished this goal without you. Helen, the videos helped immensely. Audrey, your patience got me up and surfing. Thank you all!! PS Tropico Latino was wonderful. Absolutely loved my bungalow. Restaurant was excellent.

Kathleen

So much more than surfing

September 20, 2017

When I first went to PVA ten years ago, I was only focused on learning to surf- no more no less. But after that first trip, beaming from having surfed my first outside waves, I knew I’d return but not just for the perfect waves, fabulous surf instruction and delicious food. I’d go back to be with amazing people I met and surfed with while at PVA. Before PVA, I never vacationed in the same place twice but Santa Teresa draws you in and the PVA crew keeps you coming back. I never expected that I would return year after year and whenever I could get away to surf, laugh and unwind with my friends- new and old. PVA gave me what I originally wanted- the skills and the confidence to surf different breaks around the world. But even better and completely unexpected, PVA introduced me to some of the best people I know- people who are a part of my life everyday- whether we are surfing together in Costa or on opposite coasts planning our next surf adventure. There are a ton of surf camps out there but this is the one you want. It’s just better. And you will get so much more out if than you could ever expect….

Jen

so welcoming

September 19, 2017

Costa Rica is so beautiful and the people are so welcoming. From the second I arrived at Pura Vida Adventures, I felt so welcomed and at home. The hotel was the perfect combo of luxe, jungle living. Steps from the ocean, the property was exactly what I was hoping for. The pool was a nice touch and the open air restaurant on-site was fresh and delicious. Now for the surfing and yoga! I was a beginner at yoga at the time and Cris was an amazing instructor. I felt completely comfortable and excited to push myself to learn more. The open air yoga studio overlooking the ocean was so peace during each morning yoga sesh. So, even though I have lived in San Diego my whole life, I waited until my 30s and going to Costa Rica to learn to surf. Crazy! But I am glad I did, because the rolling waves in Costa Rica were so perfect to learn on. The small groups at Pura Vida coupled with the super experienced instructors really helped me feel like I was getting one-on-one attention. I was so proud of myself for pushing through my fear and riding waves in. By the end of the week, I was both refreshed (mind) and exhausted (body). With two small kids at home and a demanding job, Pura Vida was the perfect getaway to reenergize my mind and spirit. I also loved heading into town- such a quant place with good restaurants and fun people. We also zip-lined one day, which was so amazing – Starting at the top of the jungle canopy with the most amazing ocean view, and working our way down to the beach! When I got home, I bought a surf board and began surfing in San Diego. Although, I must say, I like the waves in CR better. 🙂

Jamie

Trip of a lifetime

September 15, 2017

No longer am I content to lie on a beach. Or visit family. Or visit other cities. Why would I when I can be zip-lining, hiking, hiking, eating delicious fresh food, doing yoga — all in addition to surfing at a spot that’s great for any level. And then there’s the volcano: Swimming in a volcano is definitely in the top 3 of coolest things I’ve ever done. Since my first Pura Vida adventure, I have been back several times; I can’t wait to go again.

Suzanne

Feels like a family

September 15, 2017

Over 7 years I went to this camp 8 times. Enough said! I had never surfed before and by the end of the first week, not only did I have a mass of new friends, but I was out in the green waves with some help from their excellent instructors. And not only that but the week was so much fun I was dying to go back. And go back I did. Costa Rica is beautiful, magical. I love the hotel where its held with amazing beach front property and staff that will feel like family by the time you leave. The instructors and hostess of the camp ARE THE BEST and I love them all so much. I always felt safe, happy, supported, challenged and most of all empowered, confident and inspired after every visit. Just. Go.

Rebecca

Dreams do come true!

September 6, 2017

Pura Vida Adventures has created a dream come true vacation for our family. My wife and I first attended 2 1/2 years ago during a Coed New Year’s surf camp. I was a bit skeptical going to a Central American country and learning to surf. My wife was insistent and I’m glad she was. This experience has changed our lives. Beginning with the thrilling trip from San Jose to Santa Teresa, we couldn’t have imagined a more exciting, fun, and inspirational vacation. You arrive at the wonderful Tropico Latino resort which is located surfside in a beautiful tropical paradise. Quaint bungaloos are spread throughout the property. An open air restaurant sits in the middle of the resort. A few steps further and you are on the beach staring at a beautiful rock formation and perfect waves. You are greeted by Sara with a fresh tropical smoothie and you settle in to hear about your week. The staff is what makes Pura Vida what it is. Each day is carefully organized to maximalize not only your surfing, activities and meals but also your down time, yoga and spa time. (The massages are AWESOME!) So we come to surf. The waves and beach are perfect for beginner and experienced surfers alike. The instructors are hand picked because of their love for the sport and their talent as an instructor. This group is the best. They break down the process that makes getting up on your board easier. It does take a lot of determination, practice and patience but everyone gets up and what a thrill it is. As your skills progress, they will take you out to the green where the waves break. The paddle out can be exhausting but the reward is a fabulous experience. Typically you have 2-3 surfers per instructor. You never feel alone and they teach you the tools you need. I can’t say enough about how this group exceeded my expectations. Tierza is the lifeblood of this experience. It is her baby but has surrounded herself with a group of people who share her enthusiasm and love. While the surfing is what brings us together, it is the friendships and relationships that develop over the week that brings us back. We have had the good fortune to attend 3 times, twice with just the two of us and once with our 4 adult children. We look forward to returning this Thanksgiving for another adventure. I can’t think of another place I’d rather go. If you are looking for a vacation full of excitement, beauty, and serenity, this is the place for you. PVA has touched our soul and we are grateful to all involved in making these trips the priceless gems that they are.

Mike

life-changing experience

September 3, 2017

More than an amazing vacation, a life changing experience ! Pura Vida has been a life changing experience. I went there the first time after a pretty traumatic experience and found everything I was looking for and so much more… A passion for surfing, a peaceful, relaxing and healthy vacation, friends for life, a home away from home, a fun loving and supportive surfing family. Just go !

Anne

Week you'll never forget

August 31, 2017

As I write this review I’m planning my 3rd trip to Pura Vida. There are a lot of these camps springing up, but I can’t help myself from wanting to go back here. A big international trip can be scary, especially for a woman traveling alone, but after spending time with the crew at Pura Vida, I’m worried that going anywhere else would be a waste of my precious vacation time & money. The vibe at camp is super nurturing and inclusive, and both times I went I came away changed a little for the better. You can join all the activities, or none at all and sleep on a hammock all day. One woman decided day 1 she didn’t like surfing, and just shopped, got massages, and sipped cocktails the rest of the week. We still enjoyed meals and other relaxation time with her when we weren’t surfing. If you’ve come to be a better surfer, it doesn’t get much better than this. Perfect waves in crystal blue waters, expert instruction, and video feedback sessions. I’m not a great surfer, but my husband has been floored at the increase in knowledge and skill both times I’ve come home from camp. And the food…omg the food. Tropico Latino has an incredible chef, and the menu changes often. The meals are super tasty, made from fresh ingredients, and good sized portions. A lot of sites recommend not eating raw veggies and salads in Costa Rica, but you don’t have to worry about that at the hotel. It’s hard to convey the way this place touches your soul without sounding cheesy, but it’s true. This specific location in the world is magical, and simply being there opens you up to finding yourself. Expect to find a warm welcome, a safe place to learn and grow, and other fantastic women to laugh and relax with. I’ve made many friends from these trips, and keep in touch with several back home as we plan more surf trips together. I hate to spread the good word and fill up the camp too much, but it’s only fair to share the love of a place that made such a huge impact on my life. If you’re on the fence about where to go for a surf camp, I hope you let this review tip you in favor of Pura Vida. It’s a life-changing week you’ll never forget.

Cara

Just keep coming back

August 15, 2017

I first came to Pura Vida Adventures in 2014 for their New Years Eve surf retreat – I’ve been back 3 times since. Everything from the setting to the instructors to the hotel to the surf lessons to your fellow campers makes this place special. The first time I went I was just looking to learn how to surf and was taking a solo vacation for the first time and wanted an environment where I could meet people easily. I made friends on that trip that I’ve returned to Pura Vida with now several times. The surf lessons are the best I’ve ever come across. The first time I went I had never surfed before in my life – now I plan surf vacations around the world every time I have a chance. The great thing is that this place has something for everyone. If you are dying to learn how to seriously surf, you can do that here. If you want a tropical vacation with some yoga and surfing mixed in then you will have a great time. The staff really takes care of everyone from making dinner reservations to planning excursions. If you have been pondering this trip for awhile or looking at the website and wondering if it’s worth it…I’m here to tell you that it is! I’m planning trip number 5 to Pura Vida this New Years so I should know.

Ann

Life changing

August 15, 2017

Incredible and life changing retreat full of amazing women supporting all levels and abilities through an incredible surf adventure. Tierza is the heart and soul of this retreat and has surrounded herself with the most incredible team of fun and inspiring surf instructors. The beach setting is phenomenal which you enjoy from the early morning surf or beach facing yoga through to the outstanding beauty of the sunsets that leave you breathless. Highly recommend this but be warned it’s addictive – I have been back 3 times and the fact that so many guests return is testament to how unique and wonderful this whole experience is.

Maureen

BEST. VACATION. EVER.

May 9, 2017

For a whole week I got to eat delicious food, spend time in hammocks on a beautiful beach, drink as much as I wanted, surf my butt off, get in touch w/my inner Yogi, meet so many incredibly smart, fun, sweet, amazing, ripped women AND lost 2.5 lbs??? BEST. VACATION. EVER.

MC

Quick note...

January 25, 2017

Just a quick note from the jan 6th camp resident surf diva….thanks for a great week…needed to be in the space and in the water more than on waves this time around so thanks for letting me do my thing…and i got good waves anyway!!! costa has always been such a grounding place for me…dont know how i came to be so lucky to have access to this obscure slice of the world that seems to get me and give back me no matter what but i will take it….and of course a lot of that has to do with the people there…you guys are amazing and i miss you and think of you always.

Jennifer

I love it all!

December 12, 2016

Hola Tierza! Your passion for what you do comes through in every aspect of the Pura Vida Adventures guest experience. Truly. I feel very privileged to have experienced such a rare and exceptional trip — one that I will certainly treasure for a lifetime. The memories it gave me, the friendships it created, and the existing bonds of friendship it strengthened are already paying dividends back home in the ‘real world’. I really can’t say enough about your extraordinary team…Kathy, Sara, Kalyani, Helen, Ale, and Evelyn of Tropico Latino…I love them all! I meant what I said when I thanked you for creating this business of yours. It is no small feat to have a vision and implement it so masterfully. It takes courage, confidence, faith, perseverance, sacrifice, and passion. THANK YOU.

Julie

Total success!

December 2, 2016

Each and every staff member conducted themselves with professional passion. While having a ton of fun in the water, you learn surfing and safety skills which culminate in success. Thanks Tierza and company.

Maggie Gibson

you will not be disappointed

April 27, 2016

I’ve been to Pura Vida twice, once alone and once with a friend. I will definitely be back, whether I have a travel buddy or not! You get to stay in a beautiful place and play outside with cool people all day. In between, you get to eat beautiful food, swim the pool, relax in a hammock … what more could you want in life? I was also quite scared of surfing and got a lot of solid and confident instruction that not only got me upright on a board, but also helped me feel more comfortable out there. This is an amazing small business with a really personal feel to it. As long as it’s an active vacation you’re seeking, you will not be disappointed if you take this trip.

Tara

exceeded all of my expectations.

December 3, 2015

Pura Vida Adventures completely exceeded all of my expectations. Great solo trip. The surfing instruction was my favorite experience. I came down a bit nervous and left planning my return! I met amazing women, the food was excellent but the planning and organization that this group executes is as good as it gets. The yoga and spa were just more icing on the cake.

Dana Tredway

Best trip in ages!

July 21, 2015

Best trip in ages! Such a beautiful part of Costa Rica and the team was amazing! Everything was perfectly organized and executed and everyone’s passion for surfing, yoga and life was totally contagious. Hope to see you again very soon!

Jess

Finally did it. Zero regrets

February 20, 2015

After having a postcard stuck on my “vision board” for years, I finally made it a priority to travel all the way to Malpais, Costa Rica to experience an all-inclusive surf camp AND Costa Rica for the very first time. I’m typically not an all-inclusive girl who prides myself on my budget vacations, but I decided to treat myself and live it up. Wow – was it nice! I decided to leave my hubby at home and opt for a non-coed camp week where women can experience a week of nothing but daily surfing and yoga all wrapped up into one fun surf and yoga retreat! My sister and a girlfriend decided to join me on my surf camp adventure. Pura Vida Adventures operates the only surf and yoga camp out of the Hotel Tropico Latino which is a darling beachfront resort that oozes with that organically zen vibe that just so happens to be located on one of the best beaches in Costa Rica. Warm water, perfect waves and amazing oceanfront yoga decks. Our accommodations, an airy bungalow that slept 3, was a short stroll from the pool and ocean. There is also an onsite organic spa with plenty of tantalizing treatments. Our all-inclusive package actually included a massage which was a necessary treat! If you haven’t surfed before or thought you would never try it, you may want to reconsider. The surf lessons from our really cool instructors made it so most were standing up after a day or so. In fact, my girlfriend remarked on how she had taken a surf lesson on Oahu in Hawaii and it was a joke compared to the surf instruction we received by the Pura Vida Team. She left Oahu not being able to surf, but left Cost Rica claiming surfing is her new favorite sport. Most of the girls on this trip – including my sister – had never surfed before or even had any ocean experience, but everyone came away with fond feelings for the sport. They take care of every detail so you don’t even have to think about anything the entire time you are there. You have a schedule of events, but are free to break from it if you feel like having some quiet time in a beachfront hammock. Our group was having so much fun and didn’t want to miss out on a thing though! I wouldn’t hesitate going again and again to Pura Vida Adventures either with friends or solo. Our group of 12 became fast friends. The entire team at Pura Vida Adventures is phenomenal and their service was awesome. I may decide to bring my hubby on my next trip during one of the coed weeks… or not : )

Lynette

Amazing Surf camp

March 30, 2014

Amazing Surf camp…Josie was fantastic and the Pva Team and Hotel Tropico Latino Staff was wonderful.

Cat

Thank you!

January 27, 2012

This place is a gem! The people are friendly and welcoming -even the dogs are nice. The sound of the ocean, the trees, the beach. -all so peaceful. – all of it. Soul food and much appreciated. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Katherince

Can't wait to come back

January 27, 2012

Thank you Pura Vida for a fabulous week! Had so much fun surfing, meeting new friends, and seeing Costa Rica in an amazing way. You guys rock! I can’t wait to come back and keep on surfing. Love, hugs, kisses, XOX

Brie