Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“I just had to write and tell you how this trip has just completely affected me. First of all, it reminded me how to LIVE, what it felt like to live, love the world. It was Malpais and everyone at surf camp – you, Danny, Erika, Julia, Melissa… just reminding me what life really is all about, and the ocean and surfing of course. Truly – it’s so awesome that you have Pura Vida and know that everything you’ve created really touches people (me) in more ways than just a “surfing adventure”. It brought the passion back in me to really live and reminded me what pura vida really is.”

Tammy Chang ~ Honolulu, Hawaii

Woman With Sun Screen Smiling in Costa Rica
“Tierza, your passion for what you do comes through in every aspect of the Pura Vida Adventures guest experience. Truly.I feel very privileged to have experienced such a rare and exceptional trip — one that I will certainly treasure for a lifetime. The memories it gave me, the friendships it created, and the existing bonds of friendship it strengthened are already paying dividends back home in the ‘real world’. I really can’t say enough about your extraordinary team…Kathy, Sara, Kalyani, Helen, Ale, and Evelyn of Tropico Latino…I love them all! I meant what I said when I thanked you for creating this business of yours. It is no small feat to have a vision and implement it so masterfully. It takes courage, confidence, faith, perseverance, sacrifice, and passion. THANK YOU.”

Julie Trost ~ Sacramento, CA

Woman Doing Some Yoga Pose During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“The most eloquent words that come to mind when I think about my surf camp adventure in Malpais – life changing. Pura Vida taught me how to surf, how to be tranquil, how to conquer my ocean fears and most importantly… how to enjoy life. The scenery is breathtaking, yoga and surf instruction are fabulous, accommodations are great and the Pura Vida staff are some of the most unpretentious, dedicated, talented and hardworking individuals I have come across in my business dealings. I came to surf camp, never having been on a surfboard. I left 7 days later “hanging 10″, meeting lifelong friends and coming away with the best experience of my life.”

Arlene Bae ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Smiling in Costa Rica Surf Camp
“I wanted to write you an email expressing my absolute ADORATION for PVA. I had an amazing time on my trip and could not have wished for anything more. I raved about it to all of my friends and still haven’t stopped talking about it weeks later. There is nothing better than a bunch of exciting, adventurous women getting together to catch some waves. Lots of laughs, lots of surf, AMAZING food, wonderful accommodations, fantastic instructors, warm water, endless sun, gorgeous sunsets…perfection.”

Jennifer Graham ~Old Chatham, New York

Women Smilling and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you for expanding my horizons as a surfer. I have always loved the ocean, but this experience has truly changed my perspective. . . Hopefully soon I will be tearing up the Jersey shore. . . Thank you for being so wonderful and attentive this week! Now, if only I could master the art of enjoying a cerveza and surfing at the same time. . .”

Jessica ~ New Jersey

Women Hugging and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Just wanted to tell you again what a fantastic week I had at camp! So much positive energy, I feel like I got a shot of pure joy. Still riding the wave! You guys do a great job with everything, and your staff are amazing! I’ll be back for sure next year (and the year after that, and the year after that….), and my friend Elena still says she wants to come back for her 80th!”

Monica Moore ~ Los Angeles

Women With Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida! You guys rock! I didn’t really know what to expect. . . it was awesome, you completely catered to my needs and went above and beyond to make sure I had the best surfing opportunities. The instruction was absolutely great, and the week all round was really relaxing, enjoyable, & a great learning experience! I’ll be telling all my Aussie mates to get over here! Thanks heaps.”

Amy B. ~ Australia

Woman with Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“I just wanted to let you know again how incredibly thankful I am for my experience at Pura Vida Adventures. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The hotel was awesome. The instructors and hosts were caring, funny, knowledgeable, and always made safety a priority. The food was excellent and really, I could go on and on. You seem to have this business down and I have talked non-stop about it since I got back!Thank you again for such an incredible trip. It was trans-formative to say the least and I can’t wait to make it an annual pilgrimage.”

Annie Levitt ~ Los Angeles, CA

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“This has been such an awesome experience – mind opening and fulfilling. The group of women both attending and working at this camp are awe inspiring, powerful, beautiful, worldly and true. They have been an inspiration. I can’t think of a greater way to rediscover myself before I become a mother and take on all of the associated challenge. Thank you for this experience!”

Kate Townley ~ Omaha, NE

Woman Showing the Thumps Up Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I want to express my deepest gratitude to all your staff (very particularly to Josie, Helen, Andy, Brett and Daniel) for the wonderful hosting, surfing lessons and incredibly thoughtful and powerful yoga classes. I feel I have come back to NY a different individual, and that I have improved as a person as a result of my stay in Santa Teresa. I felt that all of them were professionals doing an excellent job but, much more importantly than that, they were caring, inspiring and showed me their warm hearts every day in both conversation and silence. The smile in their faces was contagious. I went on different retreats that were powerful but I do feel that this one stands out and that it has impacted my life much more than words can express. And I believe it is because of the work of your staff, no doubt about it. Through them, I have come back to myself, if that makes any sense to anyone else beyond me.”

Jessica Santos ~ New York

Womain Laughing and Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Surfing was something that’s so different than what I do in my “normal” life. Pura Vida Adventures taught me to slow the “eff” down, enjoy life, and just chill—all while hanging out in an incredible place, eating fantastic food, and having conversations that made me laugh so hard I snorted pineapple-smoothie out of my nose. And the second time was even more incredible than the first. As soon as I walked through the gates of the hotel I had a smile on my face and literally did cartwheels and handstands on the beach my first afternoon there. I fell even more in love with surfing, and more than that, definitely consider Pura Vida my safe haven and happy place. I love the people it attracts, the positive attitudes everyone brings, and the fact that it creates connections that last long beyond the trip. And yeah, I’m already planning on heading back for round three in the not-so-distant future! I love you guys!”

Anna Davies ~ Senior Editor at Cosmopolitan Magazine

Man Surfing During His Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“The best moment was the first time I caught a solid wave. Amazing!!! I can’t believe that just two and half months ago I couldn’t swim and now I am actually surfing and loving it!! There is nothing like facing your fears. After that, I was like, ‘bring it on’, I can do anything. This adventure was revitalizing, relaxing, and healing all in one and went far beyond my expectations. I’m a changed person since this trip and have come back a far better person. I wish I could share this experience with everyone… Click here for Arpita’s inspirational story of conquering her fears.”

Arpita ~ Essex Junction, VT

Woman With Suncreen Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida gives you the whole experience – the surf, the food, the bonding. Most importantly though – I would like to really highlight how AWESOME your staff is. They were all professional in and out of the water but at the same time, super fun. They really looked out for us and we could all tell that they really wanted us to learn and do well. I honestly can not say enough about how great this camp is… SO worth the bruises and cuts, the bug bites and the tacky bathing suit tans we all come back with. I’d do it all over again in an instant.”

Ako Matsuzaki ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Thank you for the best vacation! I went down to Costa Rica feeling like I was simply walking though life but not actually living it and now I feel more alive than ever. You have an amazing group of instructors and are running a spectacular program.”

Rebecca Steele ~Seattle, Washington

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Start by imagining the perfect week: surfing, yoga, wonderful food, beautiful women, falling asleep to the sound of the waves every night – wake to the sounds of tropical birds in the morning. Maybe see the stars like you’ve never seen them before. Start telling time by the direction of the wind and the tides. Forget what day it is. How hard can you paddle? Drink? Laugh? Double that, and that’s Pura Vida.”

Elizabeth Proctor ~ Pacifica, California

Woman Smiling and Surfing during her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“Today while doing yoga, I watched little waves break against the rocks and noticed the colors of the palm trees change from jungle green to lemon-lime. Later at Playa Carmen, I paddled to the outside, sitting on my board in the warm sun, floating up and over waves. I caught a wave, wiped out, and came up smiling. At sunset surf, I caught waves while the moon rose over palm trees while the sea quietly swallowed the sun. Tonight, I gazed at the stars while swinging in the hammock. Pura Vida. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.”

Cathie Bechan ~ Stamford, Connecticut

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“This place is a gem! The people are friendly and welcoming. The sound of the ocean, the trees, the beach. -all so peaceful. – all of it. Soul food and much appreciated. Thank you, thank you, thank you.”

Katherine ~ Chicago

Woman Surfing During Her Costa Rica Beach Vacation
“An amazing time, a magical place, and an adventure for the mind and soul. I couldn’t have had a better vacation. The camaraderie, surfing, food, laughter, chick-chat and the staff all add up to a very sweet moment in time. Thanks for creating an enriching and fabulous experience. An absolute treat for the senses.”

Jen Hunt ~ Oakland, California

Woman Smiling and Surfing in Costa Rica
“This has been the best vacation/experience/surf adventure of all time. We have been so fortunate – this group of women is phenomenal!!! I really can’t express how great this has been. Our first day paddling out in warm water, all I was thinking was how lucky I was to be here. We’ve become fast friends and will continue on in the future, hopefully with a return trip to Costa Rica. Most thanks, appreciation and love to the Pura Vida staff and now friends.”

Karen Wilson ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing in Costa Rica
“The most eloquent words that come to mind when I think about my surf camp adventure in Malpais – life changing. Pura Vida taught me how to surf, how to be tranquil, how to conquer my ocean fears and most importantly… how to enjoy life. The scenery is breathtaking, yoga and surf instruction are fabulous, accommodations are great and the Pura Vida staff are some of the most unpretentious, dedicated, talented and hardworking individuals I have come across in my business dealings. I came to surf camp, never having been on a surfboard. I left 7 days later “hanging 10″, meeting lifelong friends and coming away with the best experience of my life.”

Arlene Bae ~ San Francisco, California

Woman Surfing in Costa Rica
“The week I spent at Pura Vida Adventures would certainly be on my top 10 list of most terrific, fun, fabulous, and best things I’ve ever done in my life. I was fortunate to meet a group of amazing people, surf some waves, and generally revel in the utopian environment that is Mal Pais and Pura Vida Adventures.”

Elizabeth Levy ~ New York

Couples Surfing in Costa Rica
“Here I am sitting at my desk at work and I thought of the story you told of the woman who would look at your website everyday when she felt sad. I thought I would have a hard time re-entering the madness and I was right. So here I am looking at the website and longing for the Pura Vida and thinking of the girls that got to stay an extra few days. Lucky! Thank you so very, very much for such a great week. I had the time of my life. Marla and I love telling the stories of ATVing, surfing and Canopy Zipping and we are spreading the word. We will certainly be back.”

Jennifer McGeorge ~ Brooklyn, New York

Women Doing the Shaka Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I just wanted to pass along a little note to thank all of you for a fantastic trip to Costa Rica. Each of you contributed with your own personal touches to make my Pura Vida experience awesome. I’m still stoked from the inside waves I was able to ride. You only learn to surf and catch your first wave once….I’m so glad that my first surf memories include all of you.”

Wendy Weidman ~ San Francisco, California

Women Walking and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you all for the most fantastic adventure of my lifetime (so far)! There is no other place I would rather be to turn the big 50 than here. Tierza – you rock!! Thanks for making my b-day so special. Erika – You are the bomb!! Your patience, insight, surfing knowledge, energy, and positive attitude are inspiring. I want to be like you when I grow up!!”

Kate Trujillo ~ Oakland, California

Women Surfing in Costa Rica
“What a way to celebrate being 60! AND just what I needed.. a surf vacation in warm water without the bother of a wetsuit. Despite having 5 yrs. of surfing experience, at first I was very intimidated by the waves. However with Brett’s patience, calm encouragement and attentive guidance, I pushed through my fear and discovered that yes, I can ride these waves! Again and again! I gradually relaxed and ended up catching some of the best waves of my life. PVA is not only a great place for beginners, but also the perfect place for those who already can surf, and want to challenge themselves and learn more. And all the instructors are fabulous! Thanks so much for helping me overcome my fears! And for taking such good care of us. The memories will keep me warm.”

Mary Wagstaff ~ Larkspur, California

Man Hanging Loose and Surfing in Costa Rica
“I can’t imagine anything better than spending a week away, getting incredible instruction and meeting great new friends. Thank you for such an amazing experience.”

Jim Rader ~ Portland, Oregon

Women Smiling in the Pool in Costa Rica
“I am in love! What an amazing week and experience with everyone. I am already planning on how I can come back asap. Thank you for helping me reconnect, taking me on this wonderful retreat and checking two more boxes on the never ending bucket list. See you next year. I love Costa Rica !!”

Gemma

Man Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thanks Pura Vida, had a great time and met some really cool peeps. Such a great setup you have down here and your instructors are awesome!”

Nick

Women Hugging and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Wow, what a week! I had such an amazing time this week and truly don’t have words to express the gratitude I have for the team at Pura Vida. All I can say is that I can’t wait to be back. XOXO”

Ali McGill -NYC

Women Waving and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida! Your guys rock! I didn’t really know what to expect. . . it was awesome, you completely catered to my needs and went above and beyond to make sure I had the best surfing opportunities. The instruction was absolutely great, and the week all around was really relaxing, enjoyable, & a great learning experience! I’ll be telling all my Aussie mates to get over here! Thanks heaps.”

Amy B. – Australia

Woman Doing the Yoga Pose and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Thank you so much for a remarkable & eye opening surfing experience. I’m very impressed by the instructors who were friendly & helpful and the awesome food & amenities. You’ve got the right idea and Pura Vida has hit the sweet spot!”

Morgan Manser – Nashville, TN

Man Doing the Shaka Sign and Surfing in Costa Rica
“Pura Vida offers a first-class program that caters to both men and women looking for an active yet relaxing experience. The accommodations are top-notch, the food is gourmet, and the quality of surf and yoga instruction is unsurpassed for the area. My time at Pura Vida was unreal and unforgettable. It included new experiences and new friends all in a fun and unpretentious setting fostered by the great staff of Pura Vida”

Tyler Rygus ~ Calgary, Canada

Guests Having Drinks At The Pool In Costa Rica Surf Camp
“I am transformed! I can’t believe how much this experience -the place, the surfing, Cristina’s yoga, the pancakes!! -surpassed my expectations. I feel so relaxed and happy and renewed -this really has changed my outlook -I made new friends, chanted mantras, surfed, built fires. -It has been a gift. Thank you.”

Brigit

Women Doing The Shaka Sign At Costa Rica Surf Camp
“You guys & gals totally rock! We loved every minute here and you made us feel completely pampered. We’ll be back and we’ll send our friends.”

Michelle & Mel

Women Celebrating At Costa Rica Surf Camp
“Great solo trip. The surfing instruction was my favorite experience. I came down a bit nervous and left planning my return! I met amazing women, the food was excellent but the planning and organization that this group executes is as good as it gets. The yoga and spa were just more icing on the cake.”

Dana

Guest Reviews on Tripadvisor and Google

stop searching - Pura vida Adventures is the BEST surf and yoga retreat

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

I am a young 30-something working professional that needed more than just a getaway vacation. I was looking for an experience that was both unique and revitalizing – Pura Vida Adventures proved to be just what I was looking for. It is the perfect combination of adventure and relaxation.
The retreat is hosted through a hotel called Tropico Latino that is just breathtaking. The hotel itself is a series of independent buildings nestled into the natural landscape of the costa rican beach creating a minimalist environment that is both beautiful and comfortable. And the food they serve is FANTASTIC – everything is incredibly fresh; I loved all the fresh fish and smoothies!
Getting to Santa Teresa itself requires a bit of coordination, but Pura Vida did everything within their power to make the trip smooth. I chose to travel solo for this experience and I felt at ease the entire time thanks to our designated “cruise director,” Sara and Pura Vida Adventure’s travel coordinator, Kathy. She even helped me book my airline tickets!
The retreat itself is incredibly well organized thanks to Sara. She made sure everything ran smoothly and on time from start to finish. During the retreat, she also took great care to make sure that everyone’s needs were met and that everyone was receiving the experience they were hoping for, which I really appreciated. I wanted to make the most of my time in Santa Teresa so I wanted to do a bit more than some of the other women in my group – Sara helped me organize these extra-curricular activities (I chose horseback riding and zip lining). She arranged everything – advised me on the best time to go, told me which companies to use and even transport. I highly recommend both activities but if you have to choose one, DEFINITELY go zip lining. The company Pura Vida recommends is fantastic – they were very detail oriented, made sure everyone felt comfortable and were incredibly funny!
Now to the best part – the surfing. This is the meat and potatoes of the experience and the entire retreat itinerary is scheduled around the best times to surf. I had been surfing a bit being from Florida but never received formal lessons. I LOVED how methodical and analytical they were with their surfing instruction. I give credit to the surfing instructors for really being the heart of the experience: Lucie and Davide. You can tell they have great passion for the practice and truly enjoy sharing it with others. They teach you everything you need to know to develop into a great surfer – from proper paddle technique, to reading waves, to appropriate surfing etiquette when you are out there with other surfers. They will vary the surfing experience to your appropriate experience level which was great because it allowed you to surf different kinds of waves on different beaches. The hotel is right on Santa Teresa beach which allows for maximum time in the water which is great, they take us to playa Hermosa to ride white water waves to get great practice popping up with just an infinite number of waves (it is a BEAUTIFUL beach) and apparently we got to experience a special treat given the time of year and weather and they drove us out to a beach called Cabuya where you get to ride crazy long waves so you get great practice turning.
Yoga was scheduled around surfing and oh man is restorative yoga great for sore muscles! The hotel provides wonderful outdoor, open-air yoga studios so you can watch and listen to the waves during the yoga session. It is was always the cherry on top on the end of a great day. I did not participate in as many yoga session as some of the other girls in my group because I chose to extend some of my surfing sessions on beaches that were a bit far, but the yoga I did participate in I enjoyed very much.
One final comment that I think is very telling to the quality of Pura Vida adventures – I ended up meeting different girls participating in different surfing camps or surf/yoga retreats throughout my experience, which makes sense given the area. Santa Teresa is known for their great surfing conditions so there are many surfing camps that have apparently sprung up over the years. And just scanning the surf in the morning, it became pretty apparent that they are not all created equal. One of the girls I spoke with said she would be eager to return to Santa Teresa but would be willing to try a different retreat. Contrast that experience with my own – by the end of my 6-day trip, I felt like I had become part of a little Pura Vida Family, there was not a dry-eye among us that morning as we all said our farewells. I will absolutely be returning to Pura Vida Adventures – this alum is ready to become a lifetime member!

Mel

Wonderful surfing retreat experience

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

The Pura Vida Adventure surfing retreat this week was a first-rate experience. The instructors are not just talented surfers, but also expert teachers. I came to appreciate them even more as the week went by because of how consistently they each rooted for us, while adapting instruction to diverse skill levels and surf conditions.
A program host, familiar with the local area, created a warm and supportive wrap-around experience and was one of the reasons this program is such a class act.
I had invested some time researching surf retreats and chose this one, in part, because of its really good, free instructional videos on youtube, and am grateful the actual program reflected that level of quality and fun.
It also attracted such an impressive cohort of kind students from all across the world.

Ken

Surf Camp (co-ed)

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

Best surf camp ever. A+ all around. Well organized. Sara was excellent at communicating and herding the cats. She made the trip such a breeze with her organizational skills that you were able to enjoy the trip and focus on fun and surfing. The “Julie of the Love Boat”. Top-notch instruction from instructors (Lucie, Davida, Celine, Audrey, Michele, and Pricilla) who take pride in their work. Great one-on-one instruction and videos. Perfect way to up your surfing game. Plus you get great food, massages, and much needed restorative yoga. Definitely a repeat place. I’m missing them already.

Matt

Surf and Yoga Camp is perfect for ALL!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

Pura Vida Adventures is such an amazing camp for new and experienced surfers. I’ve been back to camp 5 times over the last 10 years. Each time, I think it is perfect and each time, it gets better and better. The staff and instructors are top notch and take special care of each surfer. Tropico Latino is right on the beach and has comfortable accommodations with the spa located within the resort. The food is delicious and healthy and the on site yoga is perfect for the post surf stretch and restore. I’ve taken all kinds of people with me, from teenage daughters, never ever surfers to very experienced coed groups and everyone has a fantastic time. We can’t wait to go back again!

Andrea

Fun time during co-ed week!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

Good waves from clean-smooth conditions up to big and challenging. Fun hostess (Sara) and instructors (all of them). They were flexible and did a great job adapting the original itinerary to our group. Cool hotel and town. Daniel was a fun yoga instructor.

Jen

The search is over, book NOW! AMAZING Surf Camp!!!!!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

I jumped last minute into one of the March co-ed surf camps in Costa Rica and had a fantastic experience. I can’t recommend this camp highly enough. You are going to have a blast, your surfing is going to improve, you are going to enjoy connecting with new people, and you are going to love Santa Teresa. The setting, the coaching, the conditions, the food, the group, the communication, the logistics – everything was additive and excellent. Sara, our host was a ninja level cat herder – she communicated clearly, was responsive to needs and inquiries, and was a pleasure to have around. She even got out and surfed with us a couple times! She advised us and led group outings for meals outside of the hotel so we got to experience the awesome food and vibe in Sta Teresa. The coaches were genuinely enthusiastic when we got waves or improved – they gave encouragement and specific feedback (often out in the water, but also through super helpful video analysis sessions). My surfing confidence and performance improved so much thanks to the coaches. The surf conditions were consistently very good – and we benefited greatly from having the local coaches read on sets coming in and where they like to peak/break. Daily yoga was thoughtfully tailored for us (read: completely exhausted from surfing hard everyday) and consisted of a lot of Yin/restorative work. My partner was not able to join me on the trip, but even as a solo traveller everyone made me feel at home and part of the group. The staff at the Tropico Latino is friendly, warm, knew everyone by name, and made me feel completely at home. Don’t hesitate book a camp now – bring your partner, a big family/friend group, or go solo – you are going to love it and leave with a full heart and a smile too big for your face!

Hannah

Highly recommended - definitely would like to visit again!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

Had a wonderful time celebrating my 40th birthday with Pura Vida Adventures. As a newbie to surfing, I received wonderful instruction from the friendly coaches and also enjoyed the Yoga sessions that complimented the surfing sessions perfectly. Couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful setting with the warm waters, clear blue skies, and breezy beaches. Delicious food at the hotel as well as surrounding restaurants. Wonderfully accommodating hotel staff and excellent spa (Pina gave the best deep tissue massage ever!).

Genlee

One for the bucket list! Great Surf camp

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

I am so glad I booked the surf excursion to Santa Teresa Costa Rica, what a great time and the surf break was amazing. The Pura Vida Adventures group was such a great group. Sarah and the team took such great care of us and always there if we needed anything. Whether you’re wanting to learn how to surf for the first time or at the competition level the surf coaches are able to work with all experience levels. I have been surfing for 20 years and never got any coaching. Having pro surf coaches was pretty cool. Just the slight changes that they pick up on made a huge difference in how a surf. Celine and Davide where my coaches and I could not thank them enough for the great experience. Lucie, Audrey, Pricilla, and Michelle were also great coaches and always giving you pointers. I can’t say enough about the Pura Vida Adventures team, the food was fantastic on the resort and in town, Yoga helped every day get ready for the next surf session, and the resort was very peaceful.

Troy

Wonderful Surf retreat and amazing week

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

My best friend and I had been wanting to try a surf/yoga retreat for quite a few years and finally it all came together with Pura Vida Adventures. We are both in our 50’s and have surfed a little, but never have learned so much and progressed so quickly. Our incredible instructors, Lucie and Davide, were expert instructors. They provided consistent and positive feedback after each run. They were also very aware of the group’s skills levels and the different surf conditions during the week. I also appreciated how they focused on safety and surfing etiquette.
The camp is run very efficiently, and we felt “taken care of” every step of the way – from the meals, to the massage, to the yoga, to explaining the town, extra outings, etc. The location is beautiful and has a simplicity about it. Sunsets were amazing, and it was a perfect place to just relax and take it all in after a full day!
We live in San Diego and are committed to continue our surfing journey (once the water warms up!). At Pura Vida Adventures, we were primarily surfing the whitewater and feel like we have a very solid foundation to move towards catching some green waves.
We would definitely recommend Pura Vida Adventures and hope to make it back some year!!!

Kim

AMAZING surf and yoga retreat!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

Visited Pura Vida Adventures end of March to April. Didn’t know what to expect since I was traveling solo and had no idea what a retreat was like. I had zero surfing experience and some yoga practice. From day one Sara had everything very organized. I was very surprised actually how organized. You didn’t have to worry about a single thing! She suggested restaurants, what activities to do in the area, and other ideas to use your free time. The schedule lay out was well planned and I believe a great balance between relaxing and action packed.
In regards to surfing, since I had no experience I was nervous about getting out there. However, every single instructor was so helpful and encouraging. Michelle and Audrey were the 2 instructors I worked the most with and they were awesome. They really watched you and helped to correct your form and give you pointers. I loved every moment of it. I was excited every day to get in the water and learn something else new about surfing.
The yoga instructor Cristina kaylani was amazing. Her free spirit and humor made every yoga class enjoyable. I truly enjoyed all the classes.
The area around the hotel was great. Everything is walkable. So many healthy and delicious options. Whatever you want, there is a restaurant there. Hotel was also very well maintained and you are right on the beach.
Overall I would highly recommend PVA to anyone looking for a solo or friends vacation. I met so many new people on this trip and loved getting to know everyone. A truly wonderful experience. I am already thinking about when I can come back! Thank you PVA!

Bianca

An Unforgettable Experience

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

I have never surfed before and it’s been on my bucket list for a long time. Through a quick google search of all-women surf camps, Pura Vida seemed like the perfect combination of surf lessons and sessions, resort/ spa setting, good food and an all around fun nonjudgemental vibe.
I was not disappointed. Kathy, the travel liaison, can help with all logistical aspects of the journey. When it comes to herding cats, Sara, the camp host, is full of enthusiasm, patience, and kindness. She will point you in the direction of a delicious local meal, best swimsuit selection, or just have a coffee and a chat with you during downtime. The surf instructors are top-notch, world class surfers with a genuine passion for teaching and seeing you progress. They will push you to your limits and lift you up when you get discouraged. There was a well-balanced amount of structured activities and free time. Daily yoga sessions are suitable for all levels and are ideal for stretching those sore surfing muscles. The spa offers all types of body treatments and massages using natural and organic products and the rooms are clean and comfortable. My only complaints are that I wish it lasted longer and that I already miss my new camp friends!

Lynne

Three trips so far over eleven years - each one better than the last

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

I am a three time PVA alum – having brought my (male) significant other now in as a two time alum on their co-ed adventures, converting him to a fan as well.
The company founder has assembled an amazing package of adventure, athletic fun, great travel and food, and top notch staff – unbeatable value and great times for a week.
The “camps” always attract an interesting crowd and mix of people – fun from morning to night – I cannot recommend this group enough.
I have taken two trips to Mal Pais and a recent adventure to Bali – I can’t wait for my next adventure.

Elizabeth

Another unforgettable trip

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

This is my second trip with a Pura Vida Adventures and it was everything and more. You know you have had a great adventure when you are still reliving the trip and feeling the high a month after you are back. This time it was in Bali and everything was spot on. Due to all the research done by Pura Vida Adventures and Victoria Ross it was a trip of a life time. Add to that it was a great group of people and you have got a perfect time!

Kathleen

A consistently amazing experience

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

I just got back from my third trip with Pura Vida Adventures and every time I go I’m reminded of how special the retreat is. I always go by myself to recharge and to do the things I love to do: surfing and yoga. This retreat has the perfect mix of scheduled group activities and alone time to read, walk around town or do other things. Sara, the host, is everything you want in a host. She is super organized, open and friendly, she’s a problem solver and if you find yourself sitting next to her during a meal, she’s got a lot of fun and interesting Costa Rica stories to tell. The instructors are all amazing and I mean it. They’ve worked with the same instructors all three times I’ve been there. They know how to work with both beginners and more advanced surfers. They‘re supportive, have great energy and give good feedback. I always felt 100% safe with them in the ocean even when we paddled out where the bigger waves are. Lastly, the retreat participants are always an interesting mix of women with different backgrounds from all over North America. I always come back feeling inspired and empowered by what women can do. I will for sure be back. Also, Santa Theresa is a hidden gem and it’s absolutely worth a visit.
One thing to be aware of is, it’s not the easiest place to get to (and that’s why it’s a hidden gem). If you’re lucky you might only have to transfer once but if you’re further away you have to make two stops and that can turn into a full day of travel to get there.

Maria

Great Trip!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

I just got back from my third trip with Pura Vida Adventures and every time I go I’m reminded of how special the retreat is. I always go by myself to recharge and to do the things I love to do: surfing and yoga. This retreat has the perfect mix of scheduled group activities and alone time to read, walk around town or do other things. Sara, the host, is everything you want in a host. She is super organized, open and friendly, she’s a problem solver and if you find yourself sitting next to her during a meal, she’s got a lot of fun and interesting Costa Rica stories to tell. The instructors are all amazing and I mean it. They’ve worked with the same instructors all three times I’ve been there. They know how to work with both beginners and more advanced surfers. They‘re supportive, have great energy and give good feedback. I always felt 100% safe with them in the ocean even when we paddled out where the bigger waves are. Lastly, the retreat participants are always an interesting mix of women with different backgrounds from all over North America. I always come back feeling inspired and empowered by what women can do. I will for sure be back. Also, Santa Theresa is a hidden gem and it’s absolutely worth a visit.
One thing to be aware of is, it’s not the easiest place to get to (and that’s why it’s a hidden gem). If you’re lucky you might only have to transfer once but if you’re further away you have to make two stops and that can turn into a full day of travel to get there.

Maria

Spectacular week of surfing and sunshine!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

My husband and I just returned from one of the co-ed “Surfsgiving” weeks and we loved everything about the experience.
Sara is an absolute gem who radiates positivity and warmth. She is so organized, knowledgeable, and funny – and strikes just the right balance between organized activities and unstructured time (to do things like hang out on the amazingly comfortable hammocks and gaze at the most stunning sunsets you’ve ever seen). She’s a blast to chat with and gave us wonderful tips to make the most of our visit.
The surfing instructors are amazing. I was a bit anxious about surfing, as I don’t spend much time in the ocean. Miraculously, they had me standing up on the board on Day 1 – with improvements every day thereafter. I feel stronger than I have in months! The instructors really tune in to your specific ability level and needs. Our group included complete beginners (like me) and expert surfers – all of us left feeling like our skills had grown. I worked mostly with Audrey, Ramon, and Lucie – all had different styles and all were terrific.
The yoga – taught by the incredibly soulful Daniel – was another highlight. His classes – taught in a beautiful open room facing the ocean – are infused with beautiful messages about gratitude, nature, and openness, and also helped counteract some of the soreness from daily surfing. The cacao ceremony was another unexpected treat.
The staff at reception and in the rooms, restaurant, and spa were so friendly, responsive, and talented. The rooms are huge. A few small modifications (like a shelf to put things on in the shower) could make the rooms even more comfortable. The deep tissue massage by Pima was heaven. The food was OUTSTANDING. And the staff went to such great lengths to set up a beautiful Thanksgiving meal for us right on the beach.
Overall – this trip was the perfect “reset” that we needed after a stressful few months, and we feel so grateful to have been able to do it in such an exquisitely beautiful setting, with such fun and wonderful hosts, and surrounded by an absolutely hilarious group of travelers who quickly became friends. Don’t hesitate to book this trip – you will not regret it!

Chelsea

Fantastic trip!

5.0 rating
December 11, 2019

From start to finish, this was an incredibly vacation. My wife and I were new to surfing, but the amazing instructors had a thoughtful, encouraging approach that had us loving every minute of it and enjoying every day. I even made it out to the green waves by the end of the week! Sara – who coordinates the entire week – is a ray of sunshine, incredibly well organized, and makes everyone feel fantastic. I’d highly recommend this trip for anyone!

~ Ben

Stop Searching - Pura vida Adventures is the BEST surf and yoga retreat

5.0 rating
January 20, 2019

I am a young 30-something working professional that needed more than just a getaway vacation. I was looking for an experience that was both unique and revitalizing – Pura Vida Adventures proved to be just what I was looking for. It is the perfect combination of adventure and relaxation.
The retreat is hosted through a hotel called Tropico Latino that is just breathtaking. The hotel itself is a series of independent buildings nestled into the natural landscape of the costa rican beach creating a minimalist environment that is both beautiful and comfortable. And the food they serve is FANTASTIC – everything is incredibly fresh; I loved all the fresh fish and smoothies!
Getting to Santa Teresa itself requires a bit of coordination, but Pura Vida did everything within their power to make the trip smooth. I chose to travel solo for this experience and I felt at ease the entire time thanks to our designated “cruise director,” Sara and Pura Vida Adventure’s travel coordinator, Kathy. She even helped me book my airline tickets!
The retreat itself is incredibly well organized thanks to Sara. She made sure everything ran smoothly and on time from start to finish. During the retreat, she also took great care to make sure that everyone’s needs were met and that everyone was receiving the experience they were hoping for, which I really appreciated. I wanted to make the most of my time in Santa Teresa so I wanted to do a bit more than some of the other women in my group – Sara helped me organize these extra-curricular activities (I chose horseback riding and zip lining). She arranged everything – advised me on the best time to go, told me which companies to use and even transport. I highly recommend both activities but if you have to choose one, DEFINITELY go zip lining. The company Pura Vida recommends is fantastic – they were very detail oriented, made sure everyone felt comfortable and were incredibly funny!
Now to the best part – the surfing. This is the meat and potatoes of the experience and the entire retreat itinerary is scheduled around the best times to surf. I had been surfing a bit being from Florida but never received formal lessons. I LOVED how methodical and analytical they were with their surfing instruction. I give credit to the surfing instructors for really being the heart of the experience: Lucie and Davide. You can tell they have great passion for the practice and truly enjoy sharing it with others. They teach you everything you need to know to develop into a great surfer – from proper paddle technique, to reading waves, to appropriate surfing etiquette when you are out there with other surfers. They will vary the surfing experience to your appropriate experience level which was great because it allowed you to surf different kinds of waves on different beaches. The hotel is right on Santa Teresa beach which allows for maximum time in the water which is great, they take us to playa Hermosa to ride white water waves to get great practice popping up with just an infinite number of waves (it is a BEAUTIFUL beach) and apparently we got to experience a special treat given the time of year and weather and they drove us out to a beach called Cabuya where you get to ride crazy long waves so you get great practice turning.
Yoga was scheduled around surfing and oh man is restorative yoga great for sore muscles! The hotel provides wonderful outdoor, open-air yoga studios so you can watch and listen to the waves during the yoga session. It is was always the cherry on top on the end of a great day. I did not participate in as many yoga session as some of the other girls in my group because I chose to extend some of my surfing sessions on beaches that were a bit far, but the yoga I did participate in I enjoyed very much.
One final comment that I think is very telling to the quality of Pura Vida adventures – I ended up meeting different girls participating in different surfing camps or surf/yoga retreats throughout my experience, which makes sense given the area. Santa Teresa is known for their great surfing conditions so there are many surfing camps that have apparently sprung up over the years. And just scanning the surf in the morning, it became pretty apparent that they are not all created equal. One of the girls I spoke with said she would be eager to return to Santa Teresa but would be willing to try a different retreat. Contrast that experience with my own – by the end of my 6-day trip, I felt like I had become part of a little Pura Vida Family, there was not a dry-eye among us that morning as we all said our farewells. I will absolutely be returning to Pura Vida Adventures – this alum is ready to become a lifetime member!

Mel

Solo Traveler Finds Surf Skills and Friends for a Lifetime

5.0 rating
January 19, 2019

I was on the hunt for a week away from my regular routine of life, something to help me recharge and also refocus. On a bit of a whim, I decided to book a retreat with Pura Vida Adventures. From the moment I arrived until the moment I left, the experience was simply amazing. Tierza and the team are incredibly welcoming, friendly, and encouraging. I had never stood up on a surfboard before but within days I was paddling out to the outside and riding waves I had only ever watched from the shore. As a complete beginner, full credit has to go to the team for the quality of instruction along with the video coaching and tips while out on the water. The daily yoga was also the perfect way to recharge for the next day, and with lots of great dining options nearby, plus the beautiful sunset each night, every day with PVA truly felt like a gift. I came to PVA as a solo traveller looking for a change of pace and a refreshed perspective on my daily life. I left with new friends that will last a lifetime, renewed energy and gratitude, and a brand new passion for surfing. It seems like such a small and trivial thing to learn how to pop up onto a surfboard and catch a wave, but through PVA it was a life-changing experience that I’ll never forget.

Adrian Liem

Best Surf and Yoga camp ever

5.0 rating
January 18, 2019

Pura Vida Adventures is an excellent vacation option for couples at the coed camps, girls trip, or even a solo adventure. I just went last week and had an amazing time. We had 6 girls in our camp two I knew and three I had never met before. The instructors make you feel so safe and learning is the best time you will have. The girls were all fun and so interesting to learn what they did for a living. Every person is excited with each success. It doesn’t matter if it’s you or someone else you are just so happy to see amazing people be the best they can be. The coaches are fun and laughter abounds

Marilyn N.

Amazing surf and yoga instruction

5.0 rating
January 6, 2019

My wife suggested we take this trip to Costa Rica with Pura Vida Adventures over the New Year. I had only been surfing a few times in the past, and it sounded like fun. The instructors are amazing – so patient with beginners like me. Highlights included beautiful beaches, perfect weather, warm water, great surf, amazing yoga, and healthy food. It’s now obvious why people go back year after year….highly recommended!

Chris T.

Sweet Surf Adventure!

5.0 rating
January 4, 2019

My wife and I joined up with Pura Vida Adventures for their co-ed New Years week in 2018/2019. It was sweet!
It’s basically and almost inclusive week at a relaxed hotel in the beach, with authentic and cool surf and yoga instructors. So cool, I feel like I am hanging out with my family.
Their instruction and suggestions for improvement were spot on, making my surf game way better than when I arrived.
Add relaxing yoga, good food, and other fun guests… it is a recipe for awesome.

W.P.

New Years Surf Camp & Yoga Retreat

5.0 rating
January 4, 2019

My wife and I have a special affection for this yearly event. We are just winding down our 8th annual trip. There are few places that I have been where the excitement for the next trip starts on the way to the airport back home.
The NYE camp is one of several co-ed camps run per year and it’s a great time to be in Costa Rica. Pura Vida Adventures (PVA) is a fully immersive surf, yoga and communing with nature experience. We always meet new friends, catch up with a few alumni.
Whether you are new to surfing or are nearly a pro, you will get the same level of attention and TLC from the team of world class instructors. Everyone roots for each other and we all celebrate the individual ‘first time up’, wicked run, and spectacular wipeouts. A very supportive and encouraging environment with no pressure. No big egos here. Everything is at your own pace.
A great balance of physical adventure, mental relaxation, culinary exploration, and communion with nature.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and air conditioned. The hotel staff is great, especially Evelyn at reception.
Tierza,the owner, is inspiring and upbeat and she gets everyone energized.
Sara the camp hostess is endearing and she is always there to do the little things that make your experience that much more fun. She makes recommendations, will adjust schedules, and knows her way around town.
Instructors know what they are doing. But they keep if fun and light hearted. They work with all levels of experience and fine tune to your capabilities to gradually improve your form, technique and skills to get the best ride.
Very Chill, Pura Vida!
John from Hoboken

John L.

Sweet Costa Rica Surf/Yoga Camp

5.0 rating
January 4, 2019

My wife and I did a week surf/yoga camp with Pura Vida Adventures. In short, it was awesome. The hotel they use is secure, calm, and beautifully nestled in the jungle by the beach. It was almost all inclusive, excluding only cocktails. The local surf spots are quite nice, too. What made the camp awesome for me was the people who run it! The directors, surf instructors, and yoga teachers are so helpful, sweet, and authentic that I feel like I am vacationing with my family!
And, of course, my surfing has improved quite a bit, and I am catching multiple big green waves per session, thanks to the helpful input and criticism of my guardian angel instructors!
If you choose Pura Vida Adventures, you won’t regret it

Paul D

Amazing!

5.0 rating
December 29, 2018

A wonderfully orchestrated, thoroughly enjoyable adventure! The entire Pura Vida team was fantastic from start to finish, seamlessly coordinating a week filled with camaraderie, great adventures and wonderful memories!

Renee Peppy

Best trip ever!

5.0 rating
December 24, 2018

If you are thinking about booking this trip-do it! You will not regret it! Sara is the best host! She is warm, welcoming and made you feel at ease immediately. Sara went above and beyond for all of us! Our surf instructors are the coolest, nicest people who became friends. Love you, Davide and Lucie! They were super patient and helpful- they knew when to push you and when you needed to rest!
I felt very taken care of and would love to come back! Thanks for an incredible week I will never forget!

Mac Devo

Favorite week of my LIFE!

5.0 rating
December 15, 2018

Pure and simple I had an amazing time at Pura Vida Surf Camp & Yoga. I had never surfed before and got up on the Board on the first day, thanks to all of the great instruction. The instructors are experienced, have wonderful personalities and truly care that you have fun. The ratio of students to teachers is perfect. While your are matched up with an instructor for your 3 hour sessions they all work together throughout the day helping you with tips, suggestions and instructions. Davide was my primary instructor, so patient and passionate, as were all of instructors for the week. They are a great team of surf instructors, I feel spoiled. Sara, who coordinates everything, makes your life in Costa Rica and at the Tropico Latino a breeze. The staff at the Tropico Latino are excellent, the food is great, the fish is fresh, the fruit smoothies are refreshing. It is one of my favorite weeks of my life. I am so thankful Tierza created such a wonderful camp/spa retreat. I had a wonderful time with my fellow chicas in the unbelievable life changing adventure. I am 55 and hooked.

Marjorie Chrisman

Absolutely exceptional

5.0 rating
December 15, 2018

An amazing week, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. The location, hotel and food were excellent, but the staff members at Pura Vida made this experience exceptional. Thanks to all who made this trip so memorable!

Trudy Nasmith

My Favorite Vacation EVER!

5.0 rating
December 10, 2018

I came to this camp with 2 hours of previous surf experience and left able to surf unbroken waves all on my own. Amazing and caring instructors, delicious food and 10 new friends!
This has been my favourite vacation ever!

Erin Tighe

Surfsgiving in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica!

5.0 rating
November 30, 2018

This year I decided to spend Thanksgiving learning how to surf in Santa Teresa and I am so glad I did. What an awesome place and an even better group of people!
The team at PVA made sure everything was amazing from the delicious meals at Tropico Latino, Katana, Zulu, Habanero, The Bakery, Fishbar (among others) to surfing with the best instructors (Audrey, Davide, Helen etc.).
We also had a lot of fun drinking cocktails at Driftbar and watching the sunset and hanging out with out new best canine friend Balu at Banana Beach and Testometro.
Thank you Sara and Tierza for taking such good care of us. It really was a lot of fun.
I will definitely be back! ‍♀️❤️

E.F.F

A Step Above the Rest

5.0 rating
November 29, 2018

I had an amazing time at this surf camp! Not only was Costa Rica beautiful with wonderful food and people but the surf instruction at this camp was really a step above the rest. Already looking for another excuse to come surf again with awesome people and Pura Vida!

Tara Chitwood

Perfect balance of surfing and relaxation

5.0 rating
November 29, 2018

Pura Vida is wonderful. Really experienced and committed teachers who can handle any level of student. I had only surfed once before and was up in the deep water within a few days. The schedule gives you a nice balance of surfing, yoga, and relaxation.

Moneen Nasmith

Magical Experience

5.0 rating
November 29, 2018

I loved everything about Pura Vida Adventures. I had never surfed before and had never been to Costa Rica and the experience exceeded my expectation. Costa Rica is a magical country and the Pura Vida retreat was amazing. In one week I got the surfing basics and was able to ride waves. The instructors were very helpful, fun and patient. I loved the team, food, yoga and adventures. I highly recommend.

Elizabeth Gilcrest

Take the leap, you won't regret it!

5.0 rating
November 28, 2018

they say that everything you’ve ever wanted is on the other side of fear… for me, pura vida adventures was on that other side. and i couldn’t be happier that i took the risk and did this surf camp. the instructors were amazing. they were attentive, supportive, and pushed me beyond what i thought was possible (figuratively and sometimes literally). outside the water, the accommodations, staff, and hostess were always on point, meaning nothing to stress or waste extra energy on. the whole adventure was a great introduction to surfing and taking on my fears. if you’re on the fence, just trust yourself and go. you won’t regret it.

Bridget Hogan

The Best vacation I could have imagined

5.0 rating
November 26, 2018

This was by far the best vacation I could have imagined. The food was great, the accommodations are lovely and the scenery is absolutely breathtaking. More importantly though, the people running this camp are absolutely incredible. If you want to actually LEARN to surf – like, not just get thrown into a wave, but actually learn technique, board care, how to read a wave – how to actually get on a wave with confidence – this is absolutely the place to come. Every single surf instructor is clearly in love with what they are doing, and each has their own way of making sure you leave each session feeling encouraged and strong about what you learned. They actually want you to enjoy the sport you are learning. The yoga is fabulous and the instructor is so good at knowing exactly what you need to loosen up after a tough day. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!!! Sara, Tierza, Lucie, Helen, Audrey, Mark, Davide, Michael – thank you for the BEST week ever!

Christy Bhatnagar

Surf and Yoga Retreat

5.0 rating
November 15, 2018

What an amazing place directly next to the beach and in the rain forest. Plus great people and awesome surf instructors. A must do! Loved it!

Meike

Extraordinary in every way

5.0 rating
November 15, 2018

I can be an anxious traveler, and the idea traveling alone terrified me, but I’ve been following Pura Vida Adventures on Facebook for years and finally decided to take the plunge for my 40th birthday. I am so glad I did. The staff, without exception, is friendly, patient, knowledgeable, and funny. The facility is beautiful. The food is delicious and healthy, which often don’t go hand in hand. I learned so much about surfing, and became so much more comfortable stepping out of my comfort zone, making many new friends along the way. Thanks to all who made this week an unforgettable and life changing adventure.

D.T.

A Life-Changing Experience

5.0 rating
October 23, 2018

I was on the hunt for a week away from my regular routine of life, something to help me recharge and also refocus. On a bit of a whim, I decided to book a retreat with Pura Vida Adventures. From the moment I arrived until the moment I left, the experience was simply amazing. Tierza and the team are incredibly welcoming, friendly, and encouraging. I had never stood up on a surfboard before but within days I was paddling out to the outside and riding waves I had only ever watched from the shore. As a complete beginner, full credit has to go to the team for the quality of instruction along with the video coaching and tips while out on the water. The daily yoga was also the perfect way to recharge for the next day, and with lots of great dining options nearby, plus the beautiful sunset each night, every day with PVA truly felt like a gift. I came to PVA as a solo traveler looking for a change of pace and a refreshed perspective on my daily life. I left with new friends that will last a lifetime, renewed energy and gratitude, and a brand new passion for surfing. It seems like such a small and trivial thing to learn how to pop up onto a surfboard and catch a wave, but through PVA it was a life-changing experience that I’ll never forget.

Adrian

Learn new things about yourself

5.0 rating
August 29, 2018

Do you want to learn new things about yourself through the Pura Vida Adventures pleasure of learning how to surf? This is the Surf /Yoga Retreat that sets the bar to the MAX. At PVA, I made new lifelong friendships and learned how to surf the right way. Believe it or not … rules of surfing safely will allow you to surf anywhere in the world. So why Pura Vida? The surf instruction is superior. I felt safe, supported and properly informed. Surf etiquette, board and ocean safety are essential for surfing. These skills must be taught and practiced. The immersion for a week really helps! I now feel confident surfing my home breaks in California. In fact, I have earned respect in the line up because I am following the right rules. I also loved it so much I am going back for more in November. As a solo traveler, I enjoyed the extra care and attention from everyone and I can’t wait to go again.

Simone

Very special

5.0 rating
August 28, 2018

Pura Vida Adventures is one of those special things you find in your life that you want to share with all your family and friends. I am on my 7th time going to camp this spring and I am so excited to surf like crazy and to be coached by the amazing instructors, eat delicious food and chill at the beautiful resort. Tierza and her crew make every part of camp so fun, no two times are alike. If you haven’t gone to surf camp, now is the time!

Andrea

Every time is amazing

5.0 rating
August 28, 2018

I have now done 4 trips with Pura Vida Adventures, and every single one has been amazing. The staff does a fantastic job of customizing the experience to meet your personal needs, and the team of surf instructors truly are all stars. Every time I have gone my surfing has improved by leaps and bounds. I have am an experienced surfer and, but the program also caters to absolute beginners. Regardless of level, everyone is able to thrive and excel because the instructors are so attentive and thoughtful. The location is absolutely stunning. Nestled in a remote area with long stretches of beach is the little eco lodge that hosts PVA. A phenomenal spa, pool, and plenty of hammocks facilitate post-surf relaxation, and the open-air yoga deck is a beautiful setting for sunrise and sunset yoga classes. The food provided by the camp is delicious, and there are tons of fantastic restaurants in the surrounding area. The most unforgettable parts of the trip are always the time spent on the water: taking risks, laughing with friends and instructors, and cheering each other on. I hope I will be able to go back soon.

Isabella

Trip of a lifetime

5.0 rating
August 9, 2018

Trip of a lifetime – best waves, surf and people!

Alicia

Blissful surf trip!

5.0 rating
August 6, 2018

This was my 5th trip with Pura Vida Adventures. Consistent surf, wonderful instructors and staff, and stunning beachfront location keeps me coming back year after year!

Julie

First time, and I couldn't have felt safer

5.0 rating
August 6, 2018

I went on this surf yoga retreat with my best friend from college. I had just finished building a company for 7 years, have two kiddos and was exhausted. I was also a little nervous to surf because I hadn’t really before and wanted to get more comfortable in the waves and water. This trip was just what I needed! I surfed and did yoga everyday, got massages and the best care I could have asked for. Every detail was handled for me and I felt so safe in the water. Not only that – I caught the best waves of my life and will never forget it. Our group was amazing and made friends and memories that will last a lifetime. Keep doing what you’re during Pura Vida Adventures. I’ll definitely be back!

Alicia

Hope to be back again soon

5.0 rating
August 5, 2018

I have never really surfed and came down solo to learn and continue practicing yoga. The time spent with the crew at PVA was amazing. Great group of surf instructors who took time to teach and coach and gave me a strong foundation to build on. Yoga was great and geared toward each surf day to help the body recover. Everything was very organized and a lot of fun with a casual and calm experience. The food was awesome and the accommodations were clean, comfortable and quiet. There was a nice mix of beginners and expienced surfers and met some amazing and fun people I am sure I will keep in touch with. I highly recommend and hope to be back again soon.

Jeff

Amazing

5.0 rating
August 2, 2018

Last November I spent one week learning to surf at Pura Vida Aventures in Sta Teresa,Costa Rica. I could not have met more wonderful people ever. The owner of the Surf Camp as well as the staff members are amazing! And of course surfing was perfect. I strongly recommend woman travelling solo or with friends to consider doing this!!! Even couples can join the Surf Camp and have the time of their lifes!!! I turned 50 years old that month and I had an awsome party

Hilda

10/10 would recommend

5.0 rating
August 1, 2018

I loved everything about Pura Vida Adventures. I had never surfed before and had never been to Costa Rica and the experience exceeded my expectation. Costa Rica is a magical country and the Pura Vida retreat was amazing. In one week I got the surfing basics and was able to ride waves. The instructors were very helpful, fun and patient. I loved the team, food, yoga and adventures. I highly recommend.

Elizabeth

top-notch scenery and accommodations

5.0 rating
May 22, 2018

My Pura Vida Adventures vacation was everything I hoped for and more. The daily surf instruction, the nonstop food, the daily beachfront yoga, the scenery and accommodations were all top-notch. Everything was planned and executed well. If you’re a woman traveling alone wondering if it is safe to travel alone, it is (of course, with the usual precautions). The majority of our group stuck together for nights out or walks into town, so you are never really alone throughout the week. One piece of advice I will give to anyone considering a surf camp is the more fit you are, the better. Your upper body strength and overall conditioning will allow you to get the most out of your surf instruction and time in the water. Fighting the ocean is no small task! And bring a bottle of Advil and insect repellent! Also recommended are high quality band-aids, like Nexcare or silicone. I scraped up my knees pretty bad on the first day on the soft top boards and almost ruined the rest of my surf time. Luckily staff had a well stocked first aid kit which I raided each morning. There is also a grocery store right across the road for anything you may need. The rooms do not provide amenities like body lotion and shampoo/conditioner, so bring your own. Overall, it was a deeply fulfilling and life-enriching experience, one I will never forget. One month out, I still find myself daydreaming about my awesome surf adventure in Costa Rica. I am already planning my return trip. Thank you PVA team for the most amazing time!

Lynn

Just do it

5.0 rating
May 9, 2018

If you’ve been thinking of joining a PVA surf/yoga retreat, stop thinking about it and do it. You won’t regret anything about it, instead, you’ll come away with magical memories and perhaps a new perspective on what it means to truly LIVE! From my first apprehensive email to the last breakfast at camp, I was looked after with care. The hotel is situated on the beach, which means incredible sunsets and afternoon hammock naps are just steps away. The food at the hotel was great, and I personally enjoyed the fresh fruit smoothies each day. Sarah looked after each detail on land, whilst Helen and Luice kept us motivated in the water. Helen is a treat and it was never a dull moment! We laughed so much with her! And Luice’s grounded energy made me feel like no matter how I felt about surf in any given moment, it was ok. These ladies are extraordinary coaches. I caught many waves, including green waves at Cabuya! This would not have been possible without their guidance, PATIENCE, and support. I cannot was to come back for my next Pura Vida Adventures adventure!! #kookqueenz

Alicia

We cannot wait to return!

5.0 rating
April 25, 2018

I came to PVA without a bit of surfing experience with my 15 year old daughter who had some surfing experience. This was the best vacation for us – I was able to watch my daughter grow in confidence – not only because she was better than me but because the other women in our group treated her as an equal. I could literally see her confidence growing by the day. Since we arrived home, my daughter has a newfound respect for me as she watched me try and try again until I was able to catch a wave and stand up. (Not to mention that all her friends said their moms would never learn to surf.) The staff at PVA are the best teachers – funny, kind, patient and have a huge amount of knowledge that will get you standing on the board within a few days. The hotel and food are wonderful, so many options and they accomodate all tastes and diets. The location is remote and unspoiled, which I loved. The best part is that the staff of PVA take care of everything from who picks you up at the airport to making dinner reservations – a real treat for the moms who organize everything for their families. We cannot wait to return!

Charleen